Weekly Rustlings

IMG_1008.JPGHappy Mothers Day to the following:

  • My Mom, My Grandmother, and all the strong women who guided me in life
  • The moms who have experienced the joys of labor, or extended their love to a child that was born by another
  • The moms who have babies in heaven
  • Fur baby mommies; some choose human babies, others choose fur ones – to each their own

Today I’ll find a way to show my love to all of the women in my life that I appreciate as a mother figure because I love them all and know how much they extend themselves, and their hearts, every day.

But I won’t lie, I have a case of the motherhood blues on this bittersweet day for me. Today would have been my first mother’s day. Today is my first mother’s day.

Two days after my 30th birthday when I found out I was pregnant my first thought was, “I am now a mother, I will always be a mother.” 6 weeks later my world shattered and during this day in which my role as a mother would traditionally be celebrated there will be no celebrating in my home.

On Friday a co-worker of mine left me a semi-Mother’s Day card to let me know she was thinking of me this weekend. I almost lost it at work, but I was genuinely comforted to know that I wasn’t alone, she’d also experienced the loss of a child.

A week ago I read this article by Robin Cassady on Huffington Post and found a little bit more solace. Another new mother that had a miscarriage and wondered if this day was for her. And it is. Cassady is also the author of Diary of a Hopeful Woman, a blog following the chronicles of a woman who has miscarried. I would have been about 4 weeks ahead of Cassady.

Happy Mother’s Day to my fellow mothers, no matter where, or who, your babies are. Just know that someone out there is thinking of you, appreciates you, loves you. xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

