Why I Use Cloth Diapers + Reviews

11080921_10102428133692633_4151561047345007407_nIt’s been almost exactly a month since we started using cloth diapers and only as of this week that we’re officially full time, day and night, in cloth. I’m really proud of this but I have to say that it’s been way easier than I thought it would be because I have been nothing short of obsessed with it since the first diaper went OTB (on the bum, for all of you not in the CDing world!). Just ask my husband.

I just wanted to share a little bit about how and why we use cloth because I was brand new to this world and didn’t think much of it until one of my friends talked to me about it one day. I don’t think we were even pregnant at the time but it really intrigued me. Jason and I also believe in taking care of the earth and using cloth is incredibly earth-friendly. It just seemed like the right fit.

Where I started…

I first read this post about Cloth Diaper Systems on Diaper Wrecker over and over and over. But never really understood what they were talking about until I bought some and used them. Honestly, that’s the only way you’re going to A. know what you like and B. know what the heck the post is talking about. It’s funny to me that I can now read this post and everything makes perfect sense. There’s definitely a learning curve.

To get started, I think you have to choose a system. I first chose AI2 (all-in-two, sometimes called hybrids). It was the most logical and economical choice for me. Basically, you have a shell (cover) and an insert. On a good day, the insert will be the only thing that needs changing so you can reuse the shell throughout the day, therefore needing to spend less on shells. We are finally getting to the point where he’s old enough not to have an explosion at every change so it’s currently my favorite system.

As you become more familiar with systems and companies, you’re preference might change. If you find yourself not wanting to deal with changing inserts only and having the easy of throwing the whole diaper in the pal once it’s used a pocket might be for you. Though stuffing the diapers every time you wash might deter you so an AIO (all-in-one) would be your preference. I currently have some of each type and love them all for different reasons but, for me, it’s brand specific.

diapercollage(clockwise from top left:
GroVia Robots, GroVia Little Warriors, Bottombumpers Ahoy!, Softbums Fluffy Saurus Rex)

Brands I (currently) love and why…

My favorite is GroVia. I have a lot of their AI2 systems and find they work the best for Carter. We use a hybrid shell and Stay Dry soaker. Why? A. They are super easy to use. Snap the insert in; that’s it. B. They are so well made. C. They fit like a glove. D. They work really well as our nighttime diaper with an extra booster.

But it’s not only their diapers that I love. Kim Ormsby, the founder of GroVia, and many other GroVia team members are very active on the GroVia Families Facebook page and quick to help and answer questions. That’s great customer service!

Second is bumGenius. I currently have 2 styles in my rotation, 4.0 (pocket) and Freetimes (AIO). Love both of these but prefer using my Freetimes most when we are out and about because the whole diaper gets changed. It’s quick and easy and I don’t think I’ve had any leaks with them.

Alva would be my third but I don’t use them much. I have a few prints I really like and purchased them to try because they are so incredibly cheap. I found mine on eBay. I’m not as fond of these because they are mass produced in China and I just have a hard time with that. Personal preference. But I’d definitely encourage anyone to use them over disposables!

WAHM (work at home moms) diapers are in my stash too. I picked up most of them on Etsy and love them but I recommend waiting until you know what systems and shells you like. It will save you some money because they tend to be a little more than retail brands!

Where I buy my stash…

GroVia and bumGenius brands are mostly purchased new through our local store, Sweetbottoms Baby Boutique, or used through Facebook BST (buy, sell, trade) groups. Be careful with the BST groups because sometimes you can get scammed or purchase a product that wasn’t truthfully described in the post. I haven’t had an issue, yet.

Alva through eBay and WAHM customs on Etsy.

Other random things…

As you spend more time in the cloth diaper world, you’ll hear things about PUL, wipeable shells, gussets, fitted, one size, wool, and so many more things that I still don’t even know. Google them or ask about them in Facebook groups! Don’t be intimidated. Cloth is super easy and fun and addicting.

At the end of the day, it’s just a diaper. Have fun with it but don’t spend too much! There can be a lot of up front cost but compared to disposables it’s much more economical. Not to mention what you’re saving from the landfill! Here’s a little more info from Sweetbottoms. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask! — Annie

infograph

Leave a Reply

