Weekly Rustlings

IMG_0707.JPGLast week, while in a tired stupor, I requested a 52 week vacation from work. You know, like a sabbatical. My boss reasonably declined my request. I don’t have any children to tend to, I’m not sick, and I’m not currently pursuing higher education.

However, now that I am fully rested I wonder, was it really that crazy of a request?

Humor me for just a moment and think about the possibilities. If you were allowed, and even encouraged, to take a self-chosen, year-long sabbatical from your career for every 5-10 years of hard work I bet your healthcare costs would be lower (less stress on mind and body), your family connections would be stronger, financially smarter (have to learn how to save and spend better in that year), and you’d come back to your career with fresher, more insightful ideas.

What would you do with 52 weeks? My list would include:

  • Spend some quality time with my family and friends that are near and far
  • Travel (duh)
  • Read and blog more
  • Get really, really fit
  • Sleep
  • Do ALL the projects around the house
  • Serve my community through acts of charity
  • Learn some new skills that would make me better at my career

Hey y’all, have a great week! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

 

Leave a Reply

