Raleigh Reviews: J. Betski’s

titleLast Saturday night, the girls and I went to one of the established Downtown Raleigh restaurants that I hadn’t been to yet, J. Betski’s. There aren’t too many of those so I was really excited to finally eat here. When I arrived, the girls had already cracked open a bottle of red and ordered some appetizers. Among the samples were Mushroom and Cabbage Pierogies with Sage Brown Butter, Duck Pierogies that I assume were a special, and Smoked Beef and Pork Kielbasa with Sauerkraut and Spicy Mustard. We dug in so fast that I didn’t get a chance to get any pictures! I tried the Duck Pierogies and Kielbasa and both were packed with so much flavor. If that was all I had for dinner, I would have been satisfied but I’m glad I didn’t stop there.

For dinner, I ordered the special (pictured above). It was duck with onion braised collards and a smoked pork shoulder barley strudel. The strudel could be a meal in itself and would do really well because that was the best thing I had all night. The duck wasn’t my favorite but the whole dish was a winner and I would definitely order it again. The components all married so well and it was a great portion size too. I also paired the dish with the Lammsbrau Organic Dunkel upon the suggestion of our waiter. Excellent choice!

cdinnerCrystal ordered a vegetarian dish of Goat Cheese Ravioli and thought it was divine. Though she was expecting more goat cheese in the ravioli she was impressed with all the flavors. She even loved the vegetables (carrots, mushrooms).

adessertI chose another special for dessert. I believe our waiter called it a torte but I can’t be too sure because I was so distracted that he said chocolate, peanut butter, and hazelnut in one dessert that I was immediately sold. It had a chocolate crust and was topped with a white chocolate decoration and a homemade buckeye. Incredible.

cdessertCrystal ordered the citrus torte and thought it was also delicious. Very citrusy (because that really is the best way to describe it!), fresh, and beautiful. She couldn’t eat the embellishments though, because they were not flavors that her palette enjoyed.

All-in-all, our group was very impressed. The atmosphere was different than I imagined. It’s a rather small restaurant with an open concept. Fairly modern for how it looks on the outside. It was a nice surprise. Thanks, J. Betski’s, for a delicious first girls night out after baby!

— Annie

Leave a Reply

