Morning Glory Muffins

IMG_0593.JPGFor the past three weeks I’ve been getting my work out in at work (February Bucket List item). I’m not going to lie, I’ve enjoyed it! I started out the month going to the gym in the last hour of work, I then switched to early mornings and have figured out that I prefer getting up a little earlier in order to go to the gym. I just have to be more diligent about getting my bag packed at night, and in the mornings I have to figure out how to get better nutrition. I typically eat my breakfast when I get to work, but now I can’t eat until after my workout and because of this switch in my daily routine my stomach begins to grumble right as I walk through those office doors.

I started my Pinterest hunt and stumbled upon these Morning Glory Muffins by Country Cleaver. Healthy, nutritious, filling, and delicious. I thought, how perfect, something I can grab on my way out the door and eat during my commute to downtown. It isn’t super heavy because it is packed with veggies, fruit, and nuts so it won’t weight me down during my workout, but it will help jump start my metabolism and prepare me for a phenomenal workout.

For the first time ever I didn’t have to buy a single ingredient! When does that ever happen? Flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, coconut flakes, pecans, eggs, oil, and vanilla. The original recipe also called for grated carrots, apples, and raisins, but I swapped out the raisins for blueberries. Super easy, right? I love the type of recipe where you know that you can swap simple ingredients out and you know you likely won’t ruin the batch of goodness.

DSC_0071In Megan’s original post of this recipe she wrote about how she used a food processor for the carrots and apples and she literally saved me about 15 minutes in the prep for this recipe.

DSC_0079The original recipe yielded about 12-16 muffins and I got my monies worth with a grand total of 20 decent-sized muffins. Enough for two weeks for both my husband and I. I bet I can even refrigerate (or freeze) these if I made enough for a month. I’m so excited to try these muffins with other ingredients, or to share with friends. I’m not going to lie, I also really enjoy the fact that they made my house smell amazing. This recipe was worth a permanent add to my recipe box.

DSC_0081

What is your favorite pre or post workout snack? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

