February Book Review: Big Little Lies

IMG_0539.JPGFriends, I’m happy to report that my February read was another good one. How can a gal be so lucky? Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies had me on the edge of my seat, kept me guessing, made me feel all the feels, and most importantly made me want to get up and take action.

It all starts off with a bang, someone is killed during the elementary school trivia night. Not only are you not told who did it, you aren’t even told who died! Set in suburban Australia, this story of fiction tells the tales of three women: Jane, Celeste, and Madeline. What do they have in common? They all have children in the kindergarten class and they all struggle with secret demons.

With themes such as domestic abuse, sexual assault, and divorce you wouldn’t think this story wasn’t all that uplifting, but it was fantastic at giving the reader (me) a different insight into another woman’s life. It made me think about how I think I would handle a situation versus what would be reality. There were times where I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at the silliness of suburbia motherhood, but then other times I felt quite sad and angry. My heart was especially heavy for women that are victims of domestic violence, or children that are witnesses to domestic violence.

I loved that all through the book it was easy for me to make a new assumption on who was killed and who did it. One minute it was an abusive husband killed by his wife, the next it was a crazy kindergarten mom killed by a mother scorned, and then I wondered if new wife, Bonnie, was offed by ex-wife Madeline. I was engaged the entire way through and at the end I did not see what was coming, but wasn’t super surprised by the outcome.

Help me keep my 2015 good reads going, make a recommendation in the comments below! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

InterAct of Wake County is a private, non-profit, United Way agency that provides safety, support, and awareness to victims and survivors of domestic violence and rape/sexual assault. Visit their site if you are a victim, or if you are someone with the big heart of a volunteer.

Leave a Reply

