Crystal’s Top 10 Paris Wishlist

IMG_0503.JPGTwo weeks ago today I was to have been rounding out my time in Paris with a basket of pastries and cheeses delivered to my hotel room for my last Parisian breakfast. My plan was foiled when a lorry fire shut down all of Eurostar. I’d studied French for 7 years and learned so much about French life that it’s often the stuff that fills my dreams. While we all know that the French aren’t known to be the friendliest bunch there is no denying their culture, fashion, food, history, and the love for their city of lights.

There is no denying that someday I will make my way to Paris and when I do I will be prepared. This was the list of my must-dos that I compiled prior to my trip abroad.

1 – Take a day trip to Versailles. I’d been eying these day trips offered by Viator which happens to be a TripAdvisor backed  company.

2 – Spend an entire day at the Louvre. The Louvre, home of the Mona Lisa and 35K additional pieces of art, is one of the largest museums in the world and I want to experience all 652,000 square feet of it.

3 – Walk the Avenue des Champs-Élysées. Home to the Arc de Triomphe, theaters, cafes, and luxury shops is exactly where I want to find myself on any given afternoon.

The Champs-Elysées at night, Paris, France

4 – Take an Eiffel Tower selfie. Duh.

5 – Pay a visit to the Musée d’Orsay. This museum, housed in an old Beaux Art railway station, holds the world’s largest Impressionist collection. We’re talking Monet, Manet, Van Gogh, etc. You know, the good stuff.

6 – Soak in some sun in the Luxembourg Gardens. I’d likely need to wait until Spring or Summer anyways, but I’ve always wanted to lay in the grass and soak in that Parisian sun while admiring the colors of the bountiful flowers, or desiring a ride on Paris’ oldest merry-go-round.

7 – Kiss Mr. Big, er my husband, on Pont des Arts. My fellow SATC fans know the moment I’m talking about, but the French know the Pont des Arts as the well known bridge where lovers place a lock as a symbol of their love.

pont-des-arts

8 – Speaking of famous Hollywood moments, Moulin Rouge! A piece of Paris that is featured in one of my top 10 favorite movies, I hope to can-can to the real can-can someday!

9 – Spend a month’s paycheck at Marché aux Puces. The world’s most famous flea market has been around for 150 years featuring real vintage finds from clothing, accessories, home goods, etc.

ParisSharing

10 – Eat. Pretty self explanatory, but I plan on eating like the French, well, the well fed French that is. Pastries, chocolates, cheese, and wine – fill ‘er up I say!

Bonne journée! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

