New Series! Mamahood Advice

mamahoodadvice

Becoming a new mom is both exciting and nerve racking. I think the one thing that has given me a lot of comfort, even before he’s here, is this comradery that exists between moms. I’ve been fortunate to see this throughout my pregnancy with mom friends I have and it has put me at ease. I’m excited for the friendships that may come about from having a new little one around. With that said, not all new moms find that type of support right away. Maybe you’re the first one in your circle to have kids or you just moved to an area and you don’t know anyone with kids. I wanted to put together a series of posts featuring other blogger moms and the advice they might have for a new mom (i.e. me!). I’m excited to see what they come up with over the next few months because I’m sure it will come in handy for me many times. Today, to kick things off, I asked my mom for her best advice for me. Here’s what she said…


mom
My Dear Annie,
My advice to you is to JUST BE ANNIE!
You have been around babies since you were 3 years old. You have cuddled them, fed them, played with them and gave them all your love; and, all those babies have grown up with a very special place in their hearts for you. You are their Annie! They love you, trust you and confide in you.
If you can be his “Annie” to your little baby, Carter James, YOU WILL BE A WONDERFUL MOM!!!
I Love You, 
Your Momma

When she sent this me, it opened my eyes because I never thought about the idea of not being myself but I can see it happening: losing yourself a little bit because you’re putting all your focus on this new part of your life. I wholeheartedly believe you need to take care of yourself to take care of others but that’s much easier said than done when the baby arrives. I’m thankful I have this advice from my mother to keep reminding me to be myself! Thanks Momma!

Annie

 

Mamahood Advice series features blogging mamas from around the web each month sharing their advice for new moms. Interested in being a guest blogger for this series? Email me! hello [at] undertheoaksblog [dot] com.

Leave a Reply

