Raleigh Reviews: Smashburger Soft Opening

mainimageLast night, I was invited to the soft opening of the new Raleigh Smashburger. I had never eaten at one before but had seen them when we were in Denver, which is where they got their start. I didn’t think much of the store until getting invited to the opening and learning a bit more about the food, then learning about the owners of this franchise location and their impact on our local community during the opening. I’ll talk more about that below but, first, the food!

I had a lot of fun at this tasting and the food was seriously delicious. Jason went with me to this event and he tasted everything that was offered. I’m a little more picky so I only tried about half the offerings.

friesFirst, we started with some amazing Veggie Frites and Smashfries. The Veggie Frites will be my go-to when I hit up Smashburger because they did them so, so well. They are a mix of green beans and carrots with some seasoning. Cooked perfectly. The Smashfries had a really interesting flavor because they mix them with rosemary and garlic. I love the shoestring size also.

burgersThen the burgers. These two were my favorites, the Truffle Mushroom Swiss Burger up top and the BBQ, Bacon, & Cheddar Burger. The burgers themselves have so much flavor. I normally choose a plain cheeseburger because I want a burger for the burger, not all the condiments. I could see cravings coming for either of these though. Also on the menu was the Classic Smash, Avocado Ranch Black Bean Burger, Spinach, Cucumber & Goat Cheese Chicken, and the Buffalo & Blue Cheese Crispy Chicken. Jason gave me a piece of his crispy chicken and it was so flavorful. I’m not a fan of blue cheese but I also can’t have it during pregnancy so it was off the table for me either way. I’m excited to try a chicken sandwich from them after the little taste I had.

20141215_180535Also on the menu was the regional burger. Pictured above is what the NC regional burger includes. Jason also tried this one and said it was really tasty, although they did say it was the messiest burger they have, if you couldn’t guess that!

20141215_191814To top it all off, milkshakes! Their milkshakes are made with Haagen-Dazs ice cream and are the real deal. We tried Salted Caramel, Chocolate, Oreo (my fave), and Peanut Butter and Jelly. Worth it, just for the milkshakes! Then after pregnancy, I’ll be partaking in the local craft beers they will be serving up!

In addition the great food we ate, we enjoyed hearing from the owners, Ketan and Jayshri Patel. They have been in the area for almost 30 years and have a restaurant in Morrisville and another Smashburger in Durham. Through their restaurants, they support education through various initiatives and welcome education-related institutions to reach out to them for fundraising opportunities. The Raleigh grand opening will support the Communities in Schools of Wake County and the Patels are donating 10% of total proceeds from opening day through Friday, December 19 to the nonprofit!

So make sure you head over to the Shops at Falls Village this Wednesday for fun festivities and delicious food on their first day. I heard there will even be snow on the patio! And after you check them out, tweet me and let me know what you think!

Annie

 

*disclaimer – I was asked to write this review after attending the opening. All opinions and photos are my own.

 

One thought on “Raleigh Reviews: Smashburger Soft Opening

Leave a Reply

