Spend a Day in Cary

IMG_0005.JPG

7 years ago when my husband and I moved to North Carolina we had started to hunt for a house immediataly. A colleague had once asked me, “So where are you looking?” I shared that we’d started looking in Cary because we feared Raleigh would be too expensive. My colleague said, “Figures.” I later found out that people in the area know Cary to be the Concentrated Area for Relocated Yankees. Figures.

We obviously ended up in the City of Oaks, but I can’t deny that there is something about our neighbor to the West that I really appreciate. Cary often hits the Forbes lists of being a top suburb, this year being named the #5 Top Suburb for Retirement. I often find myself in Cary exploring new ground, shopping, or checking out a new restaurant.

Spend a Day in Cary

Morning – Grab some delicious breakfast at La Farm Bakery. I went to La Farm for the first time this week and it was scrumptious. However, after my visit I felt like I needed a nice long walk. Hemlock bluffs is the perfect cure following a breakfast of pastries. At Hemlock you can become one with nature, walk the paths, and Instagram the crap out of the various overlooks.

Afternoon – Stop over at Lucky 32 Southern Kitchen for a southern meal made from local, organic foods. After lunch you can pop over to either Cary Towne Center or Cary Crossroads for a little bit of shopping. Don’t care for shopping? Ho about an afternoon of pampering at the The Umstead?

Evening – If you are already at The Umstead for a relaxing afternoon, why not grab drinks and dinner at Herons? Get dressed up with your partner, or friends, and make reservations for a nice evening overlooking The Umstead property. After dinner seek out some entertainment at Koka Booth or the Cary Downtown Theater. Koka Booth host outside events like concerts, movies, plays, etc.

What do you like to do in Cary? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

