November Book Review: The 5 People You Meet in Heaven

IMG_3493.JPGHappy Friday! My good read this month was Mitch Albom’s The Fivc People You Meet in Heaven. If you aren’t familiar with this read from Albom, maybe you are familiar with another piece of his work, Tuesdays with Morrie. Or if you are like my husband, “Hey, is that written by the sports journalist, Mitch Albom?”

Friends, this classic, originally published in 2003, is a must read. It was short, sweet, and introspective. Main character, Eddie, an amusement park maintenance man, dies in an attempt to save a child falling from a ride. Upon death, Eddie enters into what he believes to be heaven and encounters 5 individuals that had an impact on his life, some knowingly, some unknowingly. With each of these 5 people Eddie relives a little bit of his history, and is meant to learn a lesson with each person. With a tragic beginning, the story has a sweet, sometimes sad, but happy ending. In most reviews I’d give you a few more details, but in this one, I’m just passing along a recommendation and a little bit of a personal story.

I picked this read up a few months ago while paying another visit to the cutest little bookshop in Sanford. I had it sitting around and recently decided to give it a read. I’d been thinking a lot about life and heaven, and it just seemed like a good read that might help in my ponderings. This week would have been the week that my husband and I shared with our family and friends the news that we were expecting, adding a new member to our family. Unfortunately, 4 weeks ago that news was cut short when we were told by our doctor that there was no heartbeat to accompany the pregnancy. I’m not quite ready to share the details. I will share that reading Albom’s Five People was therapeutic to me. A little reminder of faith and trust, just in case you are also in need, or perhaps looking to fill up your own faith bank.

“Lost love is still love, Eddie. It takes a different form, that’s all. You can’t see their smile or bring them food or tousle their hair or move them around a dance floor. But when those senses weaken, another heightens. Memory. Memory becomes your partner. You nurture it. You hold it. You dance with it. Life has to end,” she said. “Love doesn’t.”

Have a happy weekend! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

2 thoughts on “November Book Review: The 5 People You Meet in Heaven

  1. So sorry to hear of your loss, but thank you for sharing. Now I see why God put you on my heart this morning, as I felt the urge to ask St. Gerard for prayers for you. Continuing to lift you up. I’m glad this book spoke to you.

Leave a Reply

