Sunday Casseroles Recipe Review: Chicken, Sweet Potato, and Bacon

IMG_5438EDITEDLet me just start off by telling a truth: I hate the word “casserole” but I love eating them. Saying it brings back so many memories of awful casseroles we used to have at family gatherings. Pyrex dishes full of ingredients that should never be put together because half of them aren’t even edible by themselves. Last week I came across Sunday Casseroles: Complete Comfort in One Dish. I immediately purchased it on Kindle for iPad and flipped through the recipes to see all the good eats that I couldn’t wait to make. Later that night, I passed the iPad to Jason and said, “Pick one.” I couldn’t! He settled on Chicken, Sweet Potato, and Bacon Casserole. I’m so excited that this cookbook changes the idea of casseroles for me and gives new ideas of ingredient combinations for a new generation of casserole bakers. Here’s how the first attempt went…

The recipe has a lot of steps. However, the good thing about this one is that you can make certain steps ahead. I did it all in one night but I highly recommend prepping and cooking separately, unless you have some time to work. It’s a little more involved than I thought it would be but I had fun making it.

The main ingredients are, as I’m sure you could guess, chicken, bacon, and sweet potatoes. You’re also using a red onion, some herbs, white wine, and chicken broth, then creating a roux to help thicken up the dish. Gruyere cheese tops it off, too. I love that you are using the same dish to cook the chicken first, then the bacon, and finishing off with the vegetables, layering each in a baking dish after they finish cooking. This made clean up a lot easier.

The dish came together beautifully and was pretty good as a leftover too. Because of the onions and bacon, you’ll be able to smell this dish in your kitchen for a day or two but it was worth it and I’m excited to make it again, possible for a dinner party! It’s a great dish for all because who doesn’t like chicken, bacon, and sweet potatoes?! Also, I realized while eating the leftovers that the dish could easily be made paleo if you leave the roux and cheese out and the wine (but I’d leave that in!). From this recipe, I’d highly recommend picking up (or downloading) this cookbook. If the bacon from this recipe doesn’t sell you, how about Baked French Toast with Apples, Apricots, and Cherries? I think that might be next on my list! — Annie

Leave a Reply

