Have a silent week.

silencefreedom smallI’m currently reading The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman for a new book club I’m going to check out. A variation of the phrase above caught my eye a few nights ago as I was reading and it really stood out to me. During our drives to and from Savannah, we’d have the radio low to talk and then between our conversations Jason would turn up the radio. I assume most people do this so it shouldn’t be any surprise but I noticed it on this trip more than I really have before. I like driving in silence. I like doing a lot of things in silence actually and it has become more apparent to me recently. But I could never really figure out why. I thought maybe I was just tired of the music I have or the Spotify stations I listen to. Or maybe it’s because I talk to people for 9+ hours a day at work. Or the TV is on constantly and mindlessly sometimes that the silence is a nice break. I’m sure it’s a little bit of all of those but when I read this phrase, the word FREEDOM clicked.

There is a freedom in silence. Freedom from always being on. Freedom to just be. I know silence scares some people. It scared me for a while. It forces you to think about a lot, often about things you don’t want to deal with. For me, it’s a struggle to not think about anything. Meditation is on my bucket list and now I’m choosing to spend more time in silence in hopes that, with any habit, it will get easier naturally. Of course there’s a big difference between not talking and mediating but you have to start somewhere.

This week, try out this silence thing. Can you be silent? Do you always have to be on? Or does it come easier than you thought? Realize the freedom that silence has. Embrace it. –Annie

Leave a Reply

