DIY: Replacing Stair Flooring

IMG_3410.JPG

My eyes are bigger than my stomach.

I bit off more than I can chew.

I replaced the flooring on the staircase in my home.

I did a lot of research before I ripped up the carpeting on my staircase in my home. Almost every single article, DIY instructions, or video said, “You should hire this out.” Sounded like a challenge to me. PS. They were right.

Don’t get me wrong, I did it! And it looks good, but wow was it a chore! When I replaced our flooring upstairs it was a chore, but I could make a bad cut every now and then and know that I’d be able to cover it up because it was near a wall and would get covered up with quarter rounds. Not with stairs. Every cut must be precise.

I’d love to say that I took notes, and that I could provide step by step instructions on how to do this yourself, but instead, I’ll just let you marvel in the glory that is my laminate wood stairs.

DSC_0141

DSC_0142

Here are some of my resources, in case you too, bite off more than you can chew:

Laminate Flooring Installed

MrYoucandoityourself

Check back Thursday, I reveal what is at the top of this glorious staircase! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

 

One thought on “DIY: Replacing Stair Flooring

  1. Pingback: 2014 Roundup: Home Renovations & Updates | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

