Have an explored week.

uploads-141223808515744db9995-3361b5e1

522 years ago today Christopher Columbus discovered a new piece of land, no biggie. History (and politics) aside, a 40-some year old man said to himself, “I’d like to go exploring.” He got in a boat, “sailed the ocean blue”, and landed somewhere undiscovered by his people. Following his travels even more people got into more boats and traveled to a land unknown. The story is unbelievable, yet amazing. I’m pretty sure our ancestors had bigger balls than we do. It’s enough of a journey for me to get in my car every morning and travel the 30 minutes to work without killing someone.

Today I’ve been thinking a lot about the places, or things I have yet to discover and I wonder about what it is that stops me. Money? Time? A lack of courage? For example, I’d love to start my own company, a creative studio of some type. I fear, though, that I would fail miserably, or that I wouldn’t have, or make enough money. What if I got bored? I’d like to ask Mr. Columbus how he got over his fear, or if he had any. When he was in the middle of the Atlantic did he ever think, “Maybe we should turn back. I’m bored out of my mind.”

What’s on your list of places, or things you’d like to explore? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

