2014 Bucket Lists: Three Months To Go!

Under the Oaks blog: 2014 Bucket Lists: 3 Months To GoCrystal

Friends, I’m not going to lie, I am failing miserably on my bucket list. So instead of focusing on the things I haven’t been doing that I’d hoped to be doing, I’m instead going to focus on the things I hope to do in the next 3 months to help me get more bang out of my year.

More date nights! This time of year is my husband’s busiest time and I feel like we could be better at setting aside nights to get away together because they are few and far in between. This may sound crazy, but I wouldn’t mind a dinner and movie night. I’m a simple gal, folks. Some movies coming up that I’m looking forward to: Gone Girl, The Best of Me, and The Hunger Games: Mockingjay.

Organize the garage and finish the garage. I have been avoiding this project like the plague. If I’m being honest, our garage is actually not in a terrible condition, but sometimes I let the bigger tasks outweigh the simple things that I could do quickly. What is it exactly that needs to get done in the garage? We need to finish drywalling, paint, configure a more efficient storage system, and purge some stuff. We’ve already done a lot of purging, which is great, but it’s the figuring out how to get the other things done that is more taxing. Maybe what I could do is come up with a detailed project plan (use some of my professional skills) and tackle a few items at a time.

Annie

I will admit, since July, there hasn’t been much on my mind except getting through the first trimester and other baby related stuff. I have let my bucket list agenda fall by the wayside but I’m pretty proud of the things I’ve accomplished so far. I will say that I’ve been actively trying to do more things around the house for my husband to thank him for all his hard work (9). Since he built our shed last year, he’s worked hard to give us three fully functional bedrooms, something we’ve never had in the six years we’ve lived there! I came home this weekend from a day out with Crystal (more on that next week!) to find he had taken the homemade bar out of our dining room to give us a ton of extra space. He made this gigantic bar for the house he lived in before and it was primarily being used for storage. Without it, our dining room feels so much bigger and doesn’t feel like a storage room anymore. After getting pregnant and realizing that I really can’t help out if I wanted, I have tried to become more active in the areas that I can help with, like cooking dinner or going to the grocery store alone so he can work longer, or running to the hardware store to pick up something he needs. He has some major projects coming up, like installing a brand new bathroom, and I’ll be finding other ways to fill in where he can’t. I’d like to think it’s because I’m just trying to be an awesome wife (which I am!) but it’s also because I can’t wait for the house to get done!

Scrapbooking (4) has also been high on my priority list but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m sure execution will come easier after the baby is here and we will be wanting to cherish all those memories but, for now, I’ve just been living in the moment as much as possible. Sort of on the same wavelength as a scrapbook, I am thinking about some sort of end of the year project to reminisce on the past year since it’s been a crazy one. I’ve always loved the idea of writing down memories as you go throughout the year and gathering them all on New Years Eve to look back but I’m much better at all at once than a little bit at a time.

How can you make the best out of the remainder of 2014?

 

Leave a Reply

