Spend a Day in the Windy City

IMG_3315.JPGI enjoy so much about Chicago, aka the Windy City. Chicago is my New York. Growing up, it was the closest city, my husband was born and raised in Chicago, and now one of my bestests lives in Chicago. I typically don’t make a trip home without spending some time in Chicago. A few weeks ago I got to surprise my friend for her 5-year anniversary and we had a blast. We did some things that I’ve done before and some new things. You really can’t run out of things to do.

IMG_3331.JPGAlways say yes to brunch. And how does dulce banana rumba french toast from m.henry sound? I took one for the team and tried it out; it was delicious. Some other great spots: Gather, Tweet, Feed – pick your favorite verb and brunch there!

IMG_3326.JPGAfter brunch, get your shopping on. You are probably familiar with the Miracle Mile, but I like the hidden gems so much more! My friend introduced me to district in Ravenswood during my most recent trip. So amazing. district is vintage, Mid Century Modern furniture that has been hunted down and showcased for purchase within this by-appointment-only shop, or on Saturday’s from 12-5. I would love to run a shop like this some day.

IMG_3332.JPGI also spent some time in Wicker Park along Milwaukee Avenue hunting the vintage and thrift shops for some hidden treasures. Boy did I find one! I found a Burberry London sack for $30, steal! I also stumbled into Mojo Spa for some homemade bath and beauty products.

IMG_3336.JPGAt some point you’ll need to refuel. You can either pop in at Native Foods (one of my favorite vegan offering spots), or why not iCream? Here you can make your ice cream on the spot using the powers of a rapid freezing, super sweet liquid nitrogen mixer. It was so fun to watch and so delicious. I was shocked. Another place to try with more gourmet ice cream offerings? Jeni’s. I had the Sweet Cream Biscuits & Peach Jam and I may have gone to heaven.

IMG_3322.JPG

IMG_3323.JPG

 

IMG_3333.JPGIn the afternoon do something über touristy like check out the Hancock building, or Navy Pier. On a nice day, you won’t be disappointed. You’ll also be close to Michigan Avenue. Interested in a show instead? Check out the Chicago Theatre schedule to see what is in town during your visit.

IMG_3329.JPGOne of my favorite parts about Chicago is the abundance of things to eat (if you haven’t picked up on that already). I love discovering new dinner spots in Chicago. This time around I tried karyn’s on green and was delighted with this vegan/ vegetarian menu. The spot I always suggest to visitors: Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba. Here you can find TRUE tapas style food and the most amazing sangria. My mouth is literally watering for Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba as I type this very sentence.

IMG_3330.JPGThankfully you can get to all of these places via the L. They’ve also started using these great new tap and go transit cards, it was amazing! I always stick the paper ticket in the wrong way the ensure that I look like a tourist. Tap and go was made just for me.

Do you have some favorite Chicago hot spots? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

