30 Things I Learned Before 30

IMG_3304.JPG

As Annie mentioned in Sunday’s sweet post, I turned 30 this week. I took the whole week off from work to spend time on projects around the house, relax, and do a little bit of reflection. I feel like the only way I can acknowledge that I survived my 20’s is to reflect on all the life lessons I learned pre-30. Buckle in and get comfortable, there are some good ones here (and pay attention if you are currently pre-30).

  1. A risk is always worth taking. I’ve taken a few risks in the latter years of my 20s and when I look back I realize they all got me to where I am today: happy.
  2. You are your biggest bully. I didn’t realize until a year ago that I was the only one truly judging me. When I stopped judging myself so harshly I felt a lot less judged by others.
  3. You really can genuinely love yourself.
  4. It is a small world after all. We all truly have so much in common.
  5. Failure can be a gift if you can find the lesson to be learned. It really is all about perspective.
  6. Trust in your intuitions. They exist for a reason.
  7. Furniture is an investment. I wish I would have invested in nicer furniture earlier even if it meant I had to wait for certain things; quality > quantity.
  8. Money is for paying bills, not for buying happiness.
  9. Despite what you were taught growing up, you can actually influence change. If you speak from your heart people will stop to listen.
  10. Feeling sexy in your own skin is not a shameful thing.
  11. Fair has nothing to do with life. Pity is pointless.
  12. Everything happens for a reason. Cliche, but true.
  13. You really can love someone more and more every day.
  14. You shouldn’t put so much energy into worrying.
  15. Sleep is the most important. It takes years to recover from 4 years of bad sleep.
  16. You make your own family. And it is okay.
  17. Being really awkward is actually great. It makes you you-nique and more interesting to yourself, and others.
  18. Always choose laughter.
  19. After laughter always choose sunscreen. I, no joke, have a pattern of freckles on my back from when I was 10.
  20. Everyone has baggage. Thankfully you can choose to carry it around or leave it behind.
  21. Happiness is a choice.
  22. Put your damn phone down. Enjoy life before the inter webs.
  23. Keep chasing your passions. Do something every single day that takes you closer to your dream.
  24. Hearing is different from listening. Listen more than you talk.
  25. It is okay to be independent in a relationship. You don’t need to be attached at the hip to be in love.
  26. Comparison is a silent killer. And we all do it.
  27. Tip well. As long as it is well deserved.
  28. Never pass up an opportunity to dance it out.
  29. Be nice, be kind, do good. It matters.
  30. Pace yourself. I get that I could die tomorrow, but I’m honestly not going to spend time anticipating it and “if I die in Raleigh, at least I will die free,” or at least happy. 🙂 I’m only 30 for crying out loud.

What else would you add to your list? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

