Have an eventful week.

IMG_3259.JPGBefore I get into the good stuff, can I just say how unbearably hot it is? Real talk: I’ve tried my best to avoid pants all day today because it is just hot and sticky and I wish I was near a pool, or the ocean. Either would do.

September is so fantastic in Raleigh, in my opinion, despite the late summer heat. 1) The season starts to change into Autumn which is my favorite season, 2) SPARKcon and 3) Hopscotch. Oh yeah and it is also my birthday month, but who’s paying attention? [I am, and my husband better be as well.]

Starting this Thursday and rounding out the weekend [September 4th – 6th] is Raleigh’s annual downtown music festival, Hopscotch. In it’s 5th year Hopscotch will feature over 140 bands over 3 days, and a good majority of the bands hale from this wonderful state. You can purchase a wristband for one day, or all three, and there are a few select concerts that you can purchase separate admission. Check out this amazing lineup. I’m likely going to start my birthday weekend with Lonnie Walker, Spoon, and St. Vincent.

SPARKcon, taking place in downtown Raleigh from the 11th-14th of September, is a grass roots, volunteer-based, multidisciplinary art & design festival. It is pretty great. You can see creativity in the following forms: art, bizarre, circus, comedy, dance, design, fashion, film, geek, idea, music, poetry, tasty, and theatre. In previous posts Annie and I have mentioned attending the fashion shows and browsing the street chalk art along Fayetteville Street.

Will you be attending Hopscotch or SPARKcon this year? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

