Have a habit-forming week.

IMG_3130.JPGThis past week I participated in one of those corporate, but helpful trainings, “7 Habits of Highly Effective People”. I typically enjoy taking classes like this because I try to make the most of them and use them as inspiration for whatever is going on in my life. Let’s be honest, if at any point I decide I don’t want to be more effective it is likely I’ve given up; I hope that I always want to improve and get the most out of life.

A major part of this class was about being introspective, and taking a good look at yourself and who you are. One activity was to bring an object to class that described the essence of ourselves. I chose to bring in a hammer, with one of the metal prongs broken off of it. Why did I choose to user a hammer to describe my essence:

  • Strong
  • Powerful when used properly
  • Damaged but still works
  • Strong desire to fix things
  • Always looking for a new project

I spent a lot of time during this class thinking about all the new habits I would love to form and what stops me from forming them: my choices. One habit in particular has been [as silly as this sounds] making the bed every day. Two weeks ago my husband and I spend a week making the bed every morning. I loved walking into our room with a made bed, or pulling down the covers at night, and the idea that if a visitor came over we wouldn’t need to avoid showing our bedroom or say, “Sorry, excuse the mess.” On Saturday when one of us slept in and forgot to make the bed we fell back to the messy bed of before. Do you know how long it takes to form a habit? 21 days, that’s all! We’ll try again this week to try to push it to 21 days and beyond, wish us luck.

Any new habits you’ve been meaning to form lately that you could start this week? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

3 thoughts on “Have a habit-forming week.

  1. The rule in our house is that whoever gets out of bed last makes the bed. This is incentive to get up when my alarm clock goes off. Lol.

Leave a Reply

