June Book Review(s)

Under the Oaks blog : June Book ReviewsI’ve been reading some good stuff this past month. Instead of a full-fledged book review today I’m simply going to share what I’ve been reading and give you some highlights. Also, I’d highly encourage you to share below in the comments what you’ve been reading, I’m always in search of a good read!

The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks

My go-to beach reads: anything by Nicholas Sparks. I started reading The Best of Me during our trip to Oak Island and am loving it, of course. As like most of Sparks’ other novels, the story takes place in a small town of North Carolina and is a story of love and tragedy, shocker I know.

Amanda and Dawson, who were high school sweethearts  are brought together by the death of a good friends after they’d spent 25 years apart. The friend, Tuck, leaves behind very specific instructions that he’d like carried out in memory of his life, but as the reader you see the true motives: to bring Amanda and Dawson back together. Lots of drama, lots of love: good read.

Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres

Seriously … I love Ellen DeGeneres. She’s so positive, uplifting, and her humor always has good intent. If I had a private island and could only invite a limited number of people I would invite Ellen (and Portia of course).

In DeGeneres’ second book Seriously … I’m Kidding, she shares some quick and simple tips for being a good human being, with a side of good-natured humor. She speaks of being true to yourself, being kind to others, and making time to laugh. Her novel is very lighthearted, short, and a good listen for a work commute.

“Find out who you are and figure out what you believe in. Even if it’s different from what your neighbors believe in and different from what your parents believe in. Stay true to yourself. Have your own opinion. Don’t worry about what people say about you or think about you. Let the naysayers nay. They will eventually grow tired of naying.”

Gone Girl by Gillian Glynn

This book was fairly ridiculous. Mostly ridiculously good, but sometimes just ridiculous. However, I’m still recommending it because it kept me on the edge of my seat and I listened to it over the course of a weekend, and this is NOT a short read.

In short the novel is about a married couple, Nick and Amy, and Amy has gone missing. Throughout the story you see into both Nick and Amy’s stories; hear about the troubled marriage, money woes, cheating scandals, dishonesty, fighting, etc. Around every corner there is a new piece of evidence revealing how easily Nick could have murdered and made his wife disappear. And then … I’m not going to spoil this for you. Let’s just say it gets real crazy.

What have you been reading on your summer vacays? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

