DIY: Puppy Potty Bell

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

This week our sweet Frankie turned 6 months and it is so amazing thinking about the leaps and bounds we’ve made in training, and how he’s grown to almost his full size. This week marked another success for us: feeling confident enough in our house training to leave him outside of his crate during the day while we are at work. Up until this week we would come home during lunch time, feed him, play with him, and promptly put him back in his crate. But because he’s done so well with house training we thought we’d pull the switch, and place a little trust and faith in our boy and he totally succeeded!

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

A few weeks ago I made a puppy potty bell. Frankie’s been great at scratching at the door when he needs to go outside (or even when he just wants to play outside … must work on that!). If I’m upstairs, however, I might not hear him scratching at the door, but I thought I probably could hear jingling bells. Most of the supplies I had at home: foam brushes, scissors, drill, bells, string, and a happy and willing puppy. I purchased a fun wooden & symbol [to signify a #1 & #2] and also a gray acrylic paint in a satin finish.

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty BellI started by drilling some holes into my wooden base, prior to painting. I strategically drilled 4 holes evenly placed, and sanded for a smooth finish. After this I painted on three coats (about 30 minutes apart) using a sponge brush.

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

Once dry (I let it sit for about an hour or two) I carefully strung the bells through using a strong suede rope and at the back tied real tight. The last thing I need is for this to fall apart and for Frankie to be running around the house with a bell in his mouth.

Under the Oaks : DIY Puppy Potty Bell

Finally I looped through a longer piece of suede rope through the top to hang on the door and voila! A puppy potty bell.

Do you have your own version of a potty bell? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “DIY: Puppy Potty Bell

  1. Pingback: 2014 Roundup: DIY Projects | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

