life lately under the oaks

photo (7)

Happy Friday! In one week I’m off to the beach and I couldn’t be more excited for a little Rest & Relaxation; my soul and sanity have been begging me for a little time away. Lately I’ve been connecting with mixed medias that are not necessarily new on the market, but new to me. This past month I’ve been all about things that uplift me, make me laugh, create a pep in my step, or force me to smile and think positively.

.. reading ..

Under the Oaks: life lately under the oaks

I’m pretty close to finishing Call the Midwife, the book [check in next Friday for a review]. Author Jennifer Worth memoirs her time in the East End of London as a midwife in the 1950s. The stories she tells are hilarious, as she describes living in a convent and the hilarity of living with “the sisters”, while other stories are a little sad as she talks about the poor or the families that have 12 children and little means to raise them. I’m thoroughly enjoying the read [or the listen, in my case]. I recently found out that there are two more memoirs by Jenifer Worth that chronicle her time as a midwife, that I look forward to reading: Shadows of the Workhouse and Farewell to the East End. Once I finish Call the Midwife I will be moving on to the BBC TV adaptation of memoir series which is available currently on Netflix.

.. watching ..

Under the Oaks: life lately under the oaks

I spend at least 30 minutes every day viewing short clips on YouTube. 1) YouTube is free and 2) it is the quickest way to find a pick-me-up, or a good laugh. My latest love? Flula.

German born DJ Flula Borg, now living in LA, produces for his YouTube channel “Flula” music videos, “German with a German” where he teaches you funny German words, and my favorites are his general vlogs, where he takes commonly used American phrases and describes them as a European understands them. These videos are hilarious. My favorite is “Sorry Not Sorry? Make Out Your Mind.” P.S. You are welcome.

.. listening ..

Under the Oaks: life lately under the oaks

I’m loving American Authors “Oh What a Life” right now. Most known for their song “Best Day of My Life” the album was released by these Bostonian turned Brooklynites in early March of this year. The iTunes Editors’ Note compares them to “Mumford & Sons, [with] the pop sheen of Foster the People.” How you could you not love a song claiming that this is going to be the best day of your life? The album as a whole a pretty good, a nice album to add to your summer collection. Oh yeah, and the acoustic version of “Best Day of My Life” is pretty sweet.

What have you been up to lately? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “life lately under the oaks

  1. Pingback: May Book Review: Call the Midwife | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

