April Book Recommendation : Modern Manners

20140418-081232.jpg

Today’s story review brought to you by a childhood story of my own:

Since a very young age I’ve been fascinated with the Royal family. I had my lone Prince William poster, was devastated when I heard of Princess Diana’s passing [and remember exactly where I was and what I was doing], and focused a lot of my high school projects around the history of the family.

I was also convinced that I was going to marry Prince William [yes, even before The Prince and Me]. None of my little friends understood it because he wasn’t as suave as JTT, or Leo DiCaprio, but nonetheless I knew that I was to be the future Mrs. I knew so much that I remember checking out books from the local library on manners and etiquette because I wanted to be prepared for when the Prince came to seek me out [in south central Wisconsin].

Even as I go older I still clung on to that fascination. Eventually my husband proposed (in October of 2009) and I of course said yes, but only with the mutual understanding that if Prince William came searching, I was to be found.

Then, in November of 2010 Wills and Kate announced their engagement. I remember I was on the road for work and had seen the story on Good Morning America. As I heard the news my heart immediately began racing and I called my husband promptly. I said, “Based on my knowledge of Royal weddings, they are going to select a date in April (note: Royal weddings often have a 5 month turnaround after engagement). I think they are going to select the date we’ve selected.” Sure enough, the Royal wedding and my wedding were both set to take place on the 29th of April.

Over the holidays I’d been visiting with my family and we’d joked about this over a table of food (my family recalls my Royal obsession). My grandmother said something like, “It sounds to me you’ve gotten exactly what you wanted. You can always say that you and Prince William share a wedding anniversary.” She’s one of the smartest women I know.

On the day of my wedding I got up extra early and watched the Royal wedding alone as guests quietly slept throughout the house. I enjoyed that time between me and the Royal duo as I mentally prepared for my own vows. I’d wondered if I should do my hair the same as Kate had done hers, or if I would look as elegant as she’d looked in her wedding dress. It was an amazing day for my husband and I, one that we will never forget.

And in 11 days as I celebrate my 3rd wedding anniversary with my husband, I will silently pass along a congratulations to Wills and Kate (and of course Prince George … which is of course, my husband’s middle name).

So of course with this post already being pretty lengthy I’ll save you all the boring details and simply make a book recommendation for the month of April. In the past couple of weeks I have been perusing the pages of Modern Manners: Tools to Take You to the Top written by Liv Tyler [yes, that Liv Tyler] and her grandmother Dorothea Johnson, an etiquette expert.

This is the sort of book I would gift to anyone. It is literally a tool kit with how to behave in certain business situations, or seated at a table for a nice dinner, or even manners you should be equipped with while traveling on a plane, train, or automobile. Most of the book is written by Ms. Johnson, but includes tales from Tyler on situations where having good manners have benefited her greatly.

It is a Good Friday indeed! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

P.S. Happy birthday weekend to my co-gal Annie! Welcome to 29 my friend, may the final year of your 20s be everything you’d ever hoped for! Please leave Annie some birthday love in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

