Simple Shoe Closet Makeover

Last week I revealed to you my personal organization dilemma : clean out the shoe closet, or attempt a total garage overhaul. Then, over the course of the weekend it got cold and rainy so the shoe closet won!

I’m a little embarrassed to show you the before …

uto_shoeclosetbefore

What a hot mess, huh? I started by removing everything from the closet and then weeding through what needed to go and what could stay. In total our donation was 18 pairs of shoes between my husband and I, 4 hanging shoe organizers, and a Rumba vacuum. I used the calculate your impact calculator and while they didn’t have a listing of the exact items I was donating, I selected comparable items and was told my potential impact was close to 3 hours of on-the-job training. Neat!

uto_donationimpact

 To complete the project I assembled a few of these stackable shoe organizers [via The Container Store], hung an organizer over the back of the door [via Target], and started moving everything back in. I gained a place to add my cleaning caddy, had plenty of storage to boot without having a laundry basket full of shoes, and even gained a few square feet to the point in which I can walk into the closet versus having to reach in from afar. Also, room to grow. Anyone know of a good sale?

uto_shoecloset2uto_shoeclosetafter

DSC_0203

Happy Thursday! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

 

2 thoughts on “Simple Shoe Closet Makeover

  1. Pingback: 2014 Roundup: Home Renovations & Updates | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

