Money Saving Apps

Under the Oaks : Money Saving AppsHappy Tax Day [as said in the most unexcited tone]. Good news, I finished my taxes shortly after completing Sunday’s post. Bad news, my bank account and it’s owner feel equally sad.

I take pride in my ability to be thrifty in absolutely everything. When I put forth the effort to do so, I can really save some money. After this year’s taxing debacle I’m really going to make a true effort to make back that money via thriftiness.

I love my coupons, the hunt in a thrift store, and combining multiple saving opportunities together to make one big saving [i.e. manufacturer coupons, store coupons, store discount card, etc.]. In fact, I probably could start a series on here all about saving money and would never run out of new ideas. Recently I was introduced to a couple of money saving apps that I’ve really been intrigued by.

Under the Oaks : Money Saving Apps

I’m thoroughly loving ibotta right now! ibotta has such an interesting concept and has savings available for Whole Foods, which is great because the only real discounts Whole Foods offers is through their quarterly coupon newsletter.

In ibotta you can browse offers by store. When you see an offer that you find of interest you select it and you can earn cents by viewing a fact, answering a poll, watching a short video, etc. You can also earn points by sharing a product on Facebook, but this doesn’t interest me so I usually never earn cents this way. Then the savings save on to your phone until you make the purchase. Once you make the purchase you then scan the item barcode via your phone, as well as photograph the item receipt and all your possible savings upload to your phone!

Once you accumulated enough savings you can cash in to PayPal, Regal Cinemas movie tickets, Starbucks, iTunes and probably more in the future. It’s a really slick app and whoever thought of it was a marketing genius, seriously. So far I’ve earned an iTunes gift card and recently downloaded American Authors (which is an AMAZing album for those interested).

Under the Oaks : Money Saving Apps

I’ve been using SavingStar for about 2 months now and I’m not really feeling it yet, but think it has really great potential and because it is a fairly new app I’m willing to stick on to it for a little while longer. Sorry, that probably wasn’t the best introduction.

SavingStar works by you loading all of your loyalty cards onto the app. For example, I have my Harris Teeter, Lowes, and CVS loyalty cards linked, but I could link more if desired. As often as you’d like you can view and select from a list of eCoupons and they will link the discounts to ALL of your loyalty cards. When you purchase the items the app will be flagged and your savings will start to load within the app. When you’ve reach a minimum of a $5 dollar savings you can cash in via Amazon, PayPal, or direct deposit to your bank account. I wouldn’t recommend the latter, but to each their own.

The reason I haven’t been feeling it quite yet is I haven’t found any savings for which to purchase, meaning the selection of eCoupons isn’t massive enough. However, I’m also a picky shopper, I don’t buy everything that is a great sale, I only buy what my family needs. The person that recommended this app to me has made a good chunk of money (and used it towards Amazon purchases) using this app. I’m keeping the faith, I will give it a few more months before I give up hope.

Under the Oaks : Money Saving Apps

I am a huge fan of  Target Cartwheel! I’ve saved the most money with this app and I was able to combine it with manufacturer coupons, Target coupons, a pharmacy 5% shopping pass, AND the 5% off from my Target Red Card. Count them, that’s 5 layered savings!

Target Cartwheel works by you browsing through a list of discounts ranging from 5% to 50% on almost anything in the store. You select all the discounts that you could potentially be interested in and it saves to your app. When checking out you show the barcode via the app on your phone, the cashier scans, and the discounts are applied. Fun! It also tallies all the savings on your app so that you can keep track of your total savings using Target Cartwheel.

My only complaint, you can only add 17 offers at a time. If you add any more than 17 it will make you remove other offers. The app appears to still be in beta mode, so this feature could potentially go away [right, Target?].

If you’d be interested in hearing more about my savings tips and tricks comment below. I promise I have a ton up my sleeve!

Have you used any of these money saving apps before? Do you have a personal favorite? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

3 thoughts on “Money Saving Apps

  1. Thank you for posting about SavingStar. Just to add a bit more to your review, every Tuesday we have a new Healthy Offer of the Week, usually for fresh fruits or vegetables. Every Friday, we have Freebie Friday for 100% cash back on an item. So far this year, we’ve offered 100% back on StarKist, Barilla, Snickers, Domino/C&H sugar, Reese’s Peanut Butter eggs, Arm & Hammer baking soda, Ajax, and more. We also feature new deals throughout the month on many of your favorite brands. If you don’t have a smartphone, you can get SavingStar deals on our website. Thanks, Josh from SavingStar

    • Wow, Josh, thanks for the extra SavingStar information! I had no idea about the new Healthy Offers posted every Tuesday, I’m really interested in these types of offers in particular. Thank you for taking the time to share this information with the UtO family of readers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

