Spring Organizing Dilemma

Under the Oaks : Spring Organizing Dilemma

Spring has sprung! We mention spring so often in our posts that you’d think the only thing we did around here was wish for spring [only partially true]. While I’m not particularly in the mood for spring cleaning, I am in the mood for an organization project which is great seeing as it is my #3 item from my 2014 Bucket List: Select a space in my home to [re]organize every month.

However, I have a dilemma [imagine that], I cannot decide which space I would like to tackle for the month of April: the front hall shoe closet or our garage. You may ask, why not do both? Because my friends, I’ve been stripped of my superwoman cape and for the sake of my sanity must only select one project this month.

The current state of our shoe closet = not too bad, maybe an hour of work. Also, I like cleaning out the closet to make room for new shoes [ulterior motives?].

The current state of our garage = disaster. Being a former Midwesterner in the South, our garage has turned into our basement and no longer a place to park cars. We’ve got lots of “stuff” in there, most of which is no longer useful to us. In fact, as of late it has become our dumping ground for when we organize all the other spaces within our home. Perhaps it’s because it’ll be easier to get the stuff to Goodwill®; completely justified.

Just some ideas …

Under the Oaks : Spring Organizing Dilemna(photo credits from left to right: pegboard, entry from garage, rubbermaid storage)

Either project I select I know I will be making a trip [or five] to Goodwill® which supports my #5 item from my 2014 Bucket List: Give back to the community once a month. Two birds, one stone? Yes please. I know that the items I bring to Goodwill [shoes, clothing, household goods, etc.] will help create jobs in our very own City of Oaks.

Annie’s shared this before in a previous post, but how cool is this Donate Impact Calculator? Next Thursday I will share which project I took on, and the impact of my personal donation. Cool, right?

In the meantime, check out these other ideas for freeing your home of clutter.

For more info, head over to www.goodwill.org to find your community’s stores, job training centers and donation sites and make sure you check them out on Twitter @GoodwillIntl and on Facebook: GoodwillIntl.

Do you have a major home organization project you’ve been avoiding? Comment below for a little encouragement! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Please note: This post was made possible through the support of Goodwill®. All opinions are my own.

One thought on “Spring Organizing Dilemma

  1. Pingback: Simple Shoe Closet Makeover | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

