5K Progress Update + Fitbit Review

Under the Oaks blog: Annie's 5K Progress Updates + #Fitbit Review #running(photo via)

A little over a month ago, I scored the ultimate deal. A repackaged Fitbit Flex on sale for half off at Target. I was so excited and still am. I haven’t forgotten it one day since and it has become such a vital part of my daily routine that I can’t imagine working on a healthier life without it.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the Fitbit Flex, it’s a small device that fits into an armband. The device tracks everything including steps, distance, calories burned based on your daily activities, and even your sleep. It also syncs easily with My Fitness Pal to track what you eat and how many calories you take in.

The first thing I did was set up a food plan through the website with a calorie deficit to help me lose 21 pounds. So far I’ve lost about 20% of that. The greatest motivation is seeing the progress being made on the scale and realizing what I’m doing is actually working. I’m essentially competing with myself and it’s been pretty simple taking it day by day; getting those step counts to increase or working out to increase the amount of calories I can eat that day and still have a deficit. It’s also been really easy to track my water intake and get those numbers up also, which really makes a difference during my runs.

With the My Fitness Pal app, tracking your calories is super simple if you’re eating things out of packages with barcodes because you just have to scan that barcode and log it for that day. It syncs with your Fitbit app so you can see how many calories you’re allowed to eat for the rest of the day. The key to making sure this works for you is being honest about logging EVERYTHING you eat and drink. You also have to make sure your serving sizes are correct. For example, most cans of soup are 2 servings but who eats only a half can of soup? It’s been fairly easy to find nutrition information for larger restaurants or something similar when you search. Adding your own recipes is simple but it just takes some time. It will if you want to be as accurate as you can be.

I really didn’t know if I would ever find something that would be so easy to use and help me as much as it has so far as the Fitbit has. It helps get me moving more often and holds me accountable for the things I eat and drink. Some things have taken some tweaking and getting used to but once you find your stride, it’s easy to become obsessed!

As for my runs, that’s much more love-hate than obsession. I will say right off that I am incredibly proud of myself. It’s hard to realize how far you’ve come when you’re still finding the workout so hard or you forget how difficult running for 2 minutes was in the beginning. I’m still not running 30 minutes straight without walking but, on the good days, I’m only stopping 2-3 times during a full 3.1 miles and only to catch my breath after a hill or with the sun beating down on you. Last week I ran a total of 11.24 miles. The week before I only ran a little less than 3 miles. This week, my plan is to run 15 and eventually work my way up to 20 until my 5K in June. After that, I’ll see how I feel but I can tell you that the days I don’t run, I’m thinking about my next run and become super motivated and ready to get back out. It’s amazing what a little rest can do.

I also went to yoga twice in the past few weeks. I plan to continue going to stretch out my legs and gain some balance and alignment. It has felt so amazing afterwards and I’m really excited to get on a regular schedule with it. Same goes for strength training.

Only 12 weeks until the race!

I’d love to hear from other runners out there! Feel free to follow me on Twitter and Instagram @oakcity_annie and say hey!

Annie's Signature

 

 

 

*Disclaimer: I was not compensated in any way for reviewing the Fitbit and all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

