Easy DIY Art

Under the Oaks blog: Easy DIY Art

Last week I challenged you to make your own art this month. Have you done it yet? I’ve done mine and here it is! This piece was super simple and took about 2 days to complete.

Under the Oaks blog: Easy DIY Art

Using the dry brush method (don’t dip your brush in water first before putting paint on it), I started with painting the first half black. I let that dry and painted the second half with white the next day.

Under the Oaks blog: Easy DIY Art

Then, I just swiped the brush back and forth between the black and white to feather and create some depth.

Under the Oaks blog: Easy DIY Art

Add a few white dots for a starry effect and you’re done!

Under the Oaks blog: Easy DIY Art

I hung it up and love the way it changes the room. It’s replacing a very colorful painting I did a few years back and it really creates a different mood in the room. Currently our living room has no personality whatsoever since we are in the middle of renovations but this painting goes with everything so I’m excited to find the perfect spot for it once the room is done!

Have you made your art for this month’s challenge? Share it! I’d love to see ’em!

Annie's Signature

One thought on “Easy DIY Art

  1. Pingback: 2014 Buckets Lists: 3 Month Check Up | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

