Berry Baked Oatmeal

Under the Oaks : Berry Baked OatmealRecently, I read about a cookbook for snacks, Snack Girl to the Rescue. Upon further research I stumbled upon Lisa Cain’s Snack Girl blog which I have been spending far too much time browsing. Cain features recipes for snacks that are healthy, wholesome, and simple. I also really like the means by which you can refine your search for recipes on her page:

Under the Oaks : Berry Baked OatmealFor a little while now I’ve been on the hunt for breakfast, make-ahead-of-time recipes. While searching Cain’s blog I used the morning snack filter and found this recipe for Baked Oatmeal. In reading the comments it appeared to me that I’m the last to the party on baked oatmeal, because apparently this is a thing. So, what to do when you feel you are missing out? Join right in, of course.

Under the Oaks : Berry Baked OatmealI followed the original recipe as is with a few modifications because I’m a big fan of using what’s in my pantry versus using exactly what a recipe calls for (sometimes this is a good thing … sometimes a disaster). Instead of cinnamon I used an extra bit of all spice, for the fruit I used a 12 oz bag of [frozen] mixed berries, for the plain yogurt I substituted Chobani coconut Greek yogurt, and to add some sweetness (though I probably could have done without) I chose to use a bit of maple syrup.

Quickly I mixed all ingredients together, baked for about 45 minutes, and voila … a berry baked oatmeal! When cooled, I sectioned off into about 6 pieces and packaged away for this week’s breakfasts and of course because I didn’t want to be surprised I gave it a taste and … yum! I’m looking forward to this being my favorite meal of the day.

Under the Oaks : Berry Baked Oatmeal

Under the Oaks : Berry Baked Oatmeal

Have you made anything from the Snack Girl to the Rescue book, or blog? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

