I am… saying yes! {Bold. Brilliant. Beautiful. You.}

Under the Oaks blog: I am... saying yes! #BoldBrilliantBeautiful

This year started off very different for me. I am normally a detailed resolutions person but starting the year pregnant changed everything, as it should. I didn’t have my super long list of goals to accomplish, various tasks to finish (except baby related), and a clear picture of the person I’d love to become by the end of the year. I knew no matter how much I planned things would ultimately be much different than I expected so I didn’t really bother. After our miscarriage, I realized that I had been doing something different this year already, somewhat resolution-like, and somewhat subconsciously. I had been making an active gesture to say “YES” to things I’d normally find an excuse to say no to. Let me clarify before I go further: I don’t say no to everything! Actually, I tend to say yes to most things. But there are a few situations that I find myself in that I tend to say no to, for no reason, other than fear of… who knows?! This year I’m ready to conquer those fears and say yes!

The handful of things I say no to typically involves me either doing something I’ve never done before or something that makes me uncomfortable, such as meeting a brand new group of people and putting myself out there. Sometimes it’s because the event takes place on a weeknight and, for whatever reason, I have it in my head that events that take place on weeknights are not worth breaking my after-work routine, no matter what, which is totally bogus. Then there are events that I totally regret not going to and cannot for the life of me remember why I said no. I’m convinced this is just a bad habit that I can break this year so I’m going for it!

Yes Man on Under the Oaks blog: I am... saying yes! #BoldBrilliantBeautiful

Anything that would be considered fun, challenging, eye-opening (as long as it’s not life-threatening like bungee jumping), that works with my schedule (doesn’t keep me out until 2a on a Tuesday), and doesn’t interfere with my life as a whole, I’m in. As much as I dislike Jim Carrey (he will always the infamous Ace Ventura to me), his movie Yes Man was sort of inspiring. If you haven’t seen it yet, I encourage you to. It also helps that Zooey Deschanel is in it, too. Love her! He basically challenges himself to say “yes” to everything for a year, which he does in a very hilarious and exhausting way. It is incredible to think about how much of an impact saying yes or no to any decision has on the outcome of our life. I’m tired of saying “no” so it’s time for a change.

One of the first things I said “yes” to this year was running a 5k. Yesterday I signed up and it’s official. And because of that,

I am determined.
I am strong.
I am a runner!

Have you ever thought about trying this? Have you done it before? I’d love to hear why you did, would, or wouldn’t take on this challenge. Please share!

Annie's Signature

 

 

For 2014, I’ve SAID YES and joined forces with some blogging friends to motivate and encourage ourselves and others to be bold, brilliant, beautiful and decidedly ourselves. And we would love for you to join! The #boldbrilliantbeautiful project is a support group for all of us seeking to be real and vulnerable. No judging, no questions, just support and words of encouragement. Find us on Instagram with the #boldbrilliantbeautiful hashtag and on the Bold. Brilliant. Beautiful. You. Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

