life lately under the oaks

.. reading ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaks

Last weekend when I went to pick up Frankie, I downloaded Jodi Picoult’s The Storyteller (via Audible.com) for the long ride. It wasn’t necessarily on my reading list, but I was looking for something that could keep me interested, make the drive seem shorter, and had lots of twists and turns. Picoult is great if you’re looking for that genre of a story, as she typically covers at least half a dozen controversial topics into a single read. I haven’t finished listening yet, but will be reviewing it for February’s book review. The plot? Twenty-something [Jewish] girl, dealing with the loss of everyone closest to her, meets an older gentlemen who later admits to having been a Nazi … oh yeah, and her grandmother was a survivor of Auschwitz. 

.. watching ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaks

Annie made me do it, she made me add Scandal to my Netflix queue [she was literally sitting right next to me, basically added it herself]. I then proceeded to watch both seasons in a matter of a week. Why not get sucked into a show about a “fixer” who is secretly having an affair with the President of the United States. Kerry Washington, as the fixer, is stylish, gorgeous, confident, and can be found eating popcorn, with a glass of red wine … while wearing white; you can’t help but fall in love with her character. I’d totally let her into my circle of friends.

.. listening ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaks

Switchfoot released their umpteenth album this past month, Fading West. It is amazing and I feel safe saying they are definitely in my Top 5 favorite bands of all time. Heck, I even walked down the aisle AND danced the first dance at my wedding to Switchfoot (Only Hope, Your Love is a Song). I adore them because they don’t sing about sex, drugs, and money … they sing about life and it’s beauties, and the power to overcome negativity. A couple of my faves from Fading West are The World You Want, Slipping Away, and Let It Out. Expect that a couple of these songs to make it on to my 2014 playlist.

.. downloading ..

 Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaks

In December the Huffington Post shared The 8 Best Apps for a Calm, Focused Mind. One of the apps is the Post’s very own GPS for the Soul in which you can test your stress level (using the camera on your phone). Based on your stress level it will suggest some calming stories to read, walk you through some breathing exercises, or share uplifting photographs or quotes. Neat and free.

What have you been up to lately? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “life lately under the oaks

Leave a Reply

