life lately under the oaks

.. reading ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaks(image via)

The last time I read a book that kept me up all night reading was … okay, I’ll admit … it was 50 Shades of Grey. Before that it was The Hunger Games and before that Twilight. Something about a good trilogy really pulls me in and the Divergent series by Veronica Roth is no exception. Let’s just say my mind is blown.

I started with the first in the series, Divergent, last weekend and finished the 450+ page (young adult) novel in about 36 hours. I promptly picked up Insurgent and Allegiant and am quickly making my way through Insurgent. As mentioned, this is a young adult series that takes place sometime in the far future, I’m presuming, and is set in torn up Chicago. Roth never calls it Chicago, but she mentions Sears Tower, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and Michigan Avenue. The main character, Beatrice, lives in a world where everyone is split into 5 factions, factions being various virtues of humanity: Amity (peace), Abnegation (selflessness), Candor (honest), Erudite (educated), and Dauntless (brave/fearless). These factions play different roles in running the city and 16-year old Beatrice is required to test to see which faction she belongs in. The decision she makes changes every thing and transforms her instantly … that’s all I will say! The series is so well written, and well thought out, a true “page turner”.

.. watching ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaksThere is only 1 thing that I’m watching this time of year: holiday movies. I simply cannot get enough, and from now until Christmas Day I will be on holiday movie patrol. To assist in my journey I have printed this Holiday TV Guide 2013 via iHeart Radio. I’m getting excited just thinking about White Christmas, Elf, A Christmas Story, The Santa Clause … !!!

.. listening ..

Under the Oaks : life lately under the oaksDo you think I get enough holiday cheer from Christmas movies alone? Nope. On my commute to work you will find me listening to and singing along with Raleigh’s 101.5 where they play nonstop Christmas music from now until the 25th of December.

“The best way to spread Christmas Cheer, is singing loud for all to hear.” Buddy, the elf

What have you been filling your hours with lately? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

