November Book Review : Mad About the Boy

20131117-152807.jpg

Of all the literary characters, from all the books I’ve ever read, I’ve felt the closest to Bridget Jones. I consistently think of her as part of my posse, my inner circle so to speak. Bridget is raw, she’s childish at time, incredibly flawed, and she has more going for her than she ever realizes. I see a little bit of myself in her at times, both positive and negative, and during the negative I find myself rolling my eyes at her thinking, “Bridget, you’re better than that” and it’s almost like I’m speaking to myself.

Reading past this point will expose you to certain spoiler alerts … I’m sorry that they are hard to avoid.

In Helen Fielding’s third installment of the Bridget Jones Diary, Mad About the Boy introduces the reader to an older Bridget with the same worries, but different priorities. In this story Bridget has gotten married, had children, and … been widowed. You grieve alongside Bridget as she figures out how to go on with her two young children and without her love. Bridget treads through her constant personal appearance struggle, moving on and finding new infatuations, the balance between prioritizing your children and prioritizing yourself, career, family, friends and … the other mothers. At the same time there is always  the constant presence of humor.

“Just back from canal ride on bike. Went really well until someone threw an egg at me from a bridge. Or maybe it was a bird which went into sudden labour. Will clean off egg, not do Boris Bikes any more and go to Obesity Clinic on bus. At least will be alive and clean when sitting on arse instead of dead and covered in egg.”

Bridget tries out an obesity clinic (though not technically obese), multiple dating websites, and battles head lice (as they are referred to as nits). Probably the most humorous bit was when she joins Twitter and keeps track of her Twitter follower counts in her diary, like “13th November 2013, 236 pounds, 3 Twitter followers.”

Despite the humor Bridget also has many moments of genuine realization, moments of reminding herself what is important, acknowledging that her children’s health and happiness is just as much of a priority as her own health and happiness, and that the two go hand in hand.

“You see, things being good has nothing to do with how you feel outside, it is all to do with how you are inside.”

Now, I wouldn’t rate this chick lit as incredible, so if you are looking for a story with lots of depth, this probably isn’t what you want to pick up. However, it was a great story to listen to as I got work done. I recently started using Audible and every month have been picking out one story to listen to either in my commute to and from work, at work, or before I go to bed. The reviews on Goodreads in general were not great, but I assume those readers don’t consider Bridget Jones as part of their personal posse like I.

Next month I’m reading and reviewing The Autobiography of Santa Clause just in time for Christmas. Feel free to join me! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

