Great App Alert, and Featured Charity

Under the Oaks : Great App Alert, and Featured Charity

A couple of weeks ago I stumbled upon an article* in either Self, Health, or Glamour regarding this neat little app called Charity Miles. The basis of the app is that you can bike, walk, or run and the distance you go equates to money that is donated to a charity of your choice, with currently 25 charitable organizations to choose from. Bikers earn $.10 per mile and walkers/runners earn $.25 per mile.

How the program works: 1) Download the app 2) Select if you are going to Bike, Walk, or Run 3) Choose your charity 4) Get your mileage on 5) Share on Twitter or Facebook, to get your friends and family involved 6) Donation made.

While I really like this app and it’s concept, it works via GPS only, so if you are stationary on a treadmill or bike, it won’t work. My first go at it I got done biking 5 miles only to find out I’d earned nothing for my charity! Also, because of the GPS functionality it requires that you be in a location in which GPS can find you. Hiking off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Western North Carolina didn’t work for me. Before giving up hope it appears that Charity Miles is working on supporting those that work out indoors.

This same article* also featured a newer charity, She’s the First, which intrigued me instantly. While I’m sure you all know how charitable both Annie and I are, I tend to experience charity overload; if I had a money tree and 48 hours in every day I would simply donate to them all! However, when you don’t have an endless amount of money, or time, you really need to think hard about what your true passions are and which charities tug the most on your heart-strings. She’s the First, is one of those charities for me.

In my family I was the first to attend and graduate college. It wasn’t easy financially, I had to work really hard [both at school and work], often missing out on the college fun my peers were having, and generally it was difficult to leave my family. Even after graduating college I had to make some sacrifices, but the knowledge and experiences I gained were invaluable and empowered me not only as a human being, but as a woman. Even though I had to work hard, I know that certain luxuries [primarily that of being an American] made it easier for me to reach my goals. There are so many young ladies around the world that simply want to be the first in their family to go to school and be educated.

She’s the First “sponsors girls’ education in developing nations, giving them the chance to become the first in their families to graduate from secondary school”. With over 400,000 student leaders, StF has assisted 289 scholars with 615 years of combined education. The donations and time provide young girls in developing countries with tuition, uniforms, food, mentorship, and a network of global supporters. Someone like me can help by making a straight donation, sponsoring a girl, or using apps like Charity Miles to donate my workout miles to charity.

A couple of weeks ago I read this great quote by 16-year old Malala Yousafzai who speaks of struggles with the Taliban and the importance of education for young women,

“We are human and [it is] part of our human nature that we don’t learn the importance of anything until it’s snatched from our hands. In Pakistan, we were stopped from going to school, and that time I realized that education is very important, and education is the power for women. And that’s why the terrorists are afraid of education. They do not want women to get education because then women will become more powerful.”

Incredibly empowering.

Have you used Charity Miles before? What charity do you support, or have been wanting to support? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

*My apologies to Self, Health, or Glamour … I lost the clipping and I know the article was in one of your fine publications. Next time I’ll try not to be so careless so I can give appropriate credit where credit is due!

2 thoughts on “Great App Alert, and Featured Charity

    • I know! I’ll be sure to update once I know it works at the gym. With cooler weather coming our way it is less and less likely that I will be going for long walks outside!

Leave a Reply

