Healthy Trick or Treats, and Sweet Alternatives

Under the Oaks : Healthy Trick or Treats, and Sweet Alternatives

In the past couple of months I’ve been having to really focus in on the foods that are healthy for my body. I don’t just say “healthy” because I’ve been learning that foods that might be healthy for one, are not healthy for all. With Halloween quickly approaching I’ve also been thinking an awful lot about trick-or-treaters and whether or not I really want to promote unhealthy eating behaviors. While I know a pillow case full of sugary sweets is inevitable and that I cannot control what everyone passes out as treats, I can control what is passed out from my doorstep [and encourage others to do the same].

This year the criteria for the items that will be leaving my doorstep: sugar-free, low carbs, preferably all natural, and some sort of positive health content. The best way to meet all of these criteria in a perfect world would be to make something yourself, which let’s be real, is a huge liability unless it is something you bring to work or something you hand out to your child’s classmates. I turned to the world of Pinterest for advice.

The Dollar Store Mom cites a lot of great options, a couple of which I liked: organic trail mix, honey sticks, or no sugar added fruit leather, all of which I’ve seen come individually wrapped from Whole Foods, Target, or the Farmer’s Market (for the honey sticks, they come in an assortment of flavors). Rubies and Radishes cites another great list of alternative Halloween trick-or-treats including: Mini Larabars, YumEarth Organic Pops, and Trader Joe’s Raw Almonds, etc.

Another treat Annie and I have talked about in passing is UNREAL candy (which you may have seen recently in grocery stores, drug stores, or other shopping marts). You can read about the benefits of UNREAL here, but they are essentially made with all natural ingredients, made in America, low on the Glycemic index, and they are also working on treats that are vegan, meaning they will contain no animal bi products. Their treats mimic those that are popular, like M&Ms, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Snickers, etc. Oh, and they are really good. Perhaps not the best of all options, but way better than their alternatives.

I’m trying really hard not to over-think this, keep it simple: what would I want my [your] children to come home with in their bags after trick-or-treating. When I think this way I don’t seem to mind spending a few extra dollars on healthy treats. I know how cheap it can be to pick up a giant bag of Snickers, but then I think about the extra costs in health care or dental visits that could occur after eating from that giant bag of Snickers (then I pat myself on the back for thinking like a fiscally responsible adult).

What are some other healthy alternatives for trick-or-treaters? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

