No Longer Newlyweds aka Year Two!

A&J Key West

Key West 2012

Alright guys, I’m going to be super candid with you for a few minutes. Sunday, Jason and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary! I can’t believe how fast time has flown / can’t believe it’s only been a year! If you don’t mind, I’ll share a bit about our little love story… We met through mutual friends at Home Depot in 2006. He was 25, I was about to turn 21. He had just quit after finding a job in architecture and I was in my junior year of college, working there part time. During the first year of our friendship, we spent a lot of time together, mostly with mutual friends, one of whom I was dating at the time. We had a fantastic friendship and, right around a year into it, I had a moment where I realized our friendship was not what I thought it was, it was so much more.

A&J Cherokee

Our first Valentine’s Day, Cherokee, NC 2008

Jason had just left for an all-expenses paid cruise he won from our local grocery store, Harris Teeter (yes, you read that right. Read more here). He was taking his brother who lived in Florida so he left the day before to hang out with him for a bit before they had to get on the boat in Miami. I was surprised to see his number come across my flip phone’s front display and answered in a panic, knowing he should already be on the boat. He answered in the same nonchalant, easy-going tone he always has and said he just wanted to call. They had just gotten on the boat and were on the main deck watching the boat leave port. Pushing the limit I said, “So I’m the last person you’re calling before you can’t use your phone anymore? Why?” He said, “I don’t know. I just… felt like calling you one more time.” From that moment on, I looked at our friendship in a much different light. We didn’t start dating for another few months but I quickly realized that something was happening.

At the beginning of our dating relationship, there were no fireworks, no breathtaking moments, no all encompassing, overwhelming, can’t-live-without-him feelings. But there have been so, so many of those moments since. It was such a natural progression into love that I almost didn’t see it happening until we were all in. We have had so many moments since then that have defined who we are as a couple and who we are as individuals. Many of them have been wonderful, some incredibly difficult, and a few without each other.

A&J Wedding(photo by Megan Kime Photography)

Regardless of what they may be, we are here, celebrating our first year as Mr. & Mrs. Our first year of our life together. This first year has been all about settling debt, catching up, and enjoying life. I am hopeful that this second year will be all about renovating our nest and getting closer to growing our family. Marriage has been the most amazing gift I’ve ever received and I could not be more excited and anxious to start our second year together!

– A

Leave a Reply

