DIY Herringbone Canvas Artwork

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas ArtworkAfter redesigning our home office we moved downstairs to what we like to call our “sitting room”, or multi-purpose room. A couple of weeks ago I stumbled upon this piece of art on Pinterest and I thought, “Yes, I can do that and I know exactly where to put it!”

For this DIY all I used were an assortment of [cheap] craft paints, a large 36×48″ canvas, a tube of acrylic paint in Unbleached Titanium, painters tape, and an assortment of foam and regular paint brushes. Most of this I had laying around the house, minus the canvas and even the canvas I bought at a steal for $15 from Michaels.

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas ArtworkThis particular project did not start off successfully. I thought it would be a brilliant idea to squirt all the paint on to the canvas at once and use a roller to blend it all in. By the time I was done it was one color … gray. I immediately felt defeated. You might wonder why I would even share my failure if in fact it turns out okay in the end. Because failure in DIY is real, but you can come back and succeed. My best advice, walk away. In my case, I put the caps back on the paint and walked away for a full week.

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas Artwork

Upon return from my DIY hiatus I decided to simplify the process. I instead picked a few select colors and just started painting them on to the canvas in random shapes and sizes, but I worked with one color at a time blending the edges into one another. For awhile I was thinking that I was going to have to walk away again, but remembered that I really just needed a good base of color and pattern for the herringbone pattern to go on top of.

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas ArtworkAfter the paint dried (I gave it 24 hours just to be safe), I started applying 5 inch long, 1 inch wide pieces of painters tape in a herringbone pattern. This took the most amount of time because it took a few tries to get the angles just right. Once all the tape was on I removed a few pieces, similar to the original piece that inspired me.

Then, with my acrylic paint I used a foam brush to paint right over the tape, filling in the gaps between the tape. I immediately removed the tape while the paint was still wet, simply because that’s best practice [and I’m impatient].

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas ArtworkThe result was mostly what I was looking for. I’m not in love with it, but I like it. It does brighten up a poorly sunlit room (as you can see in the photos). I might go back and fill in a couple more spots with the titanium white paint, but this was again a situation in which I forced myself to walk away and gauge how I feel in a couple of weeks. What do you think?

Under the Oaks : DIY Herringbone Canvas ArtworkSpeaking of a couple of weeks, check back on the 24th of this month where I’ll reveal the whole room! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

5 thoughts on “DIY Herringbone Canvas Artwork

  1. Are you kidding? How could you not love it? It turned out amazing!! I was stressing right there with you as I scrolled through the post and saw the along the way pictures, but then when I saw the final outcome I was amazed! I love the contrast of the organic colors behind the geometric whitespace. I definitely want to revive some (one?) of my former painting failures with this technique. I hope you do come back with fresh eyes in a week or so and completely fall in love with it.

    • Thank you so much, I’m blushing. You’re so sweet! It goes without saying that we are our own biggest critics sometimes (most of the time). I am appreciating it a little more and more every day. 🙂

  2. I think your finished project is so interesting and striking!! You did great! I would not have the patience to place those strips so perfectly. You could totally make these to sell on etsy for people like me who love the look but haven’t the patience. 🙂

    • Thanks Rachel, you are always so encouraging. I don’t know about making them and selling them on etsy though .. I have a monthly allotment for patience on DIY projects. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Angel Art | bex beltran

Leave a Reply

