Have a chili week.

Under the Oaks : Have a chili week.At last the temperatures have changed to something resembling fall and I no longer catch myself throwing on a sweater and sweating through it by the end of the day. Last weekend I cleaned all weekend and all I wanted to do was throw the windows open and enjoy some fresh air. As the air conditioner fought the 85+ degrees in temperature, that didn’t happen. This weekend is a different story.

This weekend is rainy, nippy, and has set the mood for reading, tea, and … homemade chili of course! Alas, crockpot weather. In my kitchen, as I write this I have a concoction of pumpkin chili stewing and a loaf of zucchini bread baking away. There truly is no other time of year when I enjoy cooking and baking as much as I do this time of year.

Under the Oaks : Have a chili week.A couple of weeks ago I heard the mention of “pumpkin chili” and all I’ve wanted since then is … pumpkin chili. Yesterday my husband mentioned the crockpot and I was off, pumpkin chili here I come. I browsed through a ton of recipes on Pinterest and stumbled upon this one from Joyful Homemaking, and while I made it my own it was my inspiration for this Sunday’s delight. Another thing I love about chili (other than the abundance of leftovers) you really don’t need any instructions and is essentially very difficult to mess up. Seriously, I’ve never messed up a pot of chili … everything else on the other hand …

Crystal’s Modified Pumpkin Chili Ingredients

2 pounds faux meat crumbles, or browned ground turkey
1 Tablespoon dried minced onion
2 15oz cans beans (I used black beans and kidney beans)
2 12oz bottles chili sauce
2 32oz cans diced, or stewed tomatoes
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 8oz can vegetable broth
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon sugar (I used a Stevia blend)
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon chili powder

I threw it all in the crockpot, stirred it up, and turned the temp to high. I figure I will let it stew for about 3-4 hours. I have some greek yogurt in the fridge so it is likely I’ll use a dollop of that when serving. (Note: I just stirred it and tasted it for quality … oh my goodness, so delicious … a sort of sweet and salty taste).

To compliment the chili I chose another fall vegetable and replicated this no sugar, low carb recipe for zucchini bread from LoveSurf Blog. I can’t wait to taste it warm from the oven. I’ve never baked with coconut flour before, but it was the first time I ever caught myself sniffing flour … coconut flour smells delicious, who knew?

Happy Sunday, have a great week! I just watched a cute squirrel bury a nut in front of my house … ugh I love fall! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

One thought on “Have a chili week.

Leave a Reply

