Easy Halloween DIYs

Beware the Birds Zip Tie Wreath on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

It’s official! We have Halloween decor! I got the idea from this super creepy wreath in the October issue of This Old House magazine. I had wreaths that I bought a few years ago with the intention of covering them with yarn and giving them as Christmas gifts but, after doing one for myself during a craft party, I wasn’t about to do two more. They are a ton of work! At least they are for me. I saw this creepy one and wanted to give it a try. I had no idea I would love the way it turned out as much as I do.

Beware the Birds Zip Tie Wreath on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

I used black duct tape to cover the straw circle because I wanted to give it an edgier look. With the right circle, you could spray paint it black and use more of the zip ties to cover it.

Beware the Birds Zip Tie Wreath on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

I am not a glitter person but I thought it would need something a little sparkly to break up the harsh black. It’s just the right amount. I used fishing wire to hang the letters to make them look like their floating in midair. I drilled very tiny holes into the letters to string it through.

Beware the Birds Zip Tie Wreath on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

I think the zip ties give it a Hellraiser creepiness to it without being over the top. The crow just ties it all together.

Mason Jar Ghost Candles on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

For some indoor decor, these super cute spooky ghost candles are perfect! I used white tissue paper, black construction paper, and Mod Podge.

Mason Jar Ghost Candles on Under the Oaks blog: Easy Halloween DIYs

Keeping the threading on the top uncovered, I was thinking we could replace the candle with a glow stick, cover them, and put them on our porch during trick-or-treating.

What Halloween DIYs are you working on?

– A

Leave a Reply

