How to Simplify : Hibernate

hibernate

I’ve been thinking about this crazy idea to hibernate this Fall and Winter. Basically, it’s like a staycation but instead of being for a few days, it’s for a few months. Is it possible? That’s the part I’m trying to figure out. Sometimes I feel like it’s better to just start something and see where it goes rather than plan and plan and not get anywhere. That’s my thought process with this idea. I want to at least have a start date so I can plan just enough to make me still feel in control and capable of achieving this goal.

Why a staycation for so long?

I have made the answer to this question too complicated so here it is in one word: simplify. Simplify my life; my thoughts, my goals, my routines. I have tried so many different things to achieve simplification but nothing has worked. I’ve tried to take a night to myself once a week to work on my own projects. I’ve tried to make the most of vacations by letting myself relax and de-stress. I’ve tried being alone in some of my favorite places around town but I always feel this guilt, mostly about wasting time. Obviously I can’t get out of town for a month to catch a breather so this has to be the next best thing. And Jason’s totally on board with it since we will be saving quite a bit of money.

I’ve broken down what I’d like to get out of this staycation with the hopes that I don’t view these as “goals” and become even more overwhelmed.

1. Breathe.

2. Focus on achieving specific goals.
My 2013 Bucket List and my 30 before 30 List are suffering (more about that on Thursday). The whole reason to start a bucket list is to actually do the things on the list! I always thought it sounded fun to live life around your dreams so why am I not doing that?

3. Regain control over my body and mind.
I think the best thing to describe this is routine. Routines have become a big thing for me in the past few years. Growing up and through college I never had a daily routine. I think that plays a big part in why I have a hard time with going to the gym consistently. I used to be so in tune with my body and I haven’t felt that way in so long. I have been having back pain issues for a few months now and it’s really hard to figure out a solution when you don’t know your body anymore. That’s a really scary thought for me because it always made me feel so comfortable in my skin. I can’t imagine feeling this out of sync when I get pregnant. Hoping I can find a yoga routine that will bring me back.

4. Focus on projects from start to finish.
I’ve had a very hard time with this since the wedding. I think I DIYed too much during that time that my crafty skills were all used up. I’m ready to get that back to creating and doing and I hate not finishing a project the day I start. This is probably why I’m so frustrated with the house renovations! Granted, I know that can’t be done in a day.

5. Create and focus on quality rather than quantity.
I don’t think this needs much explanation but, as a blogger, this is key.

6. Find my voice again.
I preferred to spend a lot of time alone during middle school and high school and was able to focus on what I loved doing. I knew what made me happy and what my creative strengths were. Looking back on the past 10 years, I feel like my life has been lacking alone time. It’s hard to find the balance when you have a new social life or relationship. I didn’t emphasize and value my relationship with myself and now I’m nervous that this might be my last chance to get back to that before a baby comes into the picture (and I’m never alone again :p). I’ve tried to work on this a few times this past year and it’s going to take some time to get back to where I was.

Any reservations?
Yes, several. Not that I have a “social life” but I feel very knowledgeable about what’s going on around town. Hitting up the newest restaurant, bar, or shop in the first few weeks is one of my favorite things to do. I love being able to give people itineraries for a night out or a weekend visit and be confident that they will have a fantastic time. I might lose that. I might also lose the closeness I feel with some friends I spend a lot of time with. I think, in order to not lose either I’ll need to plan accordingly. Have people over when appropriate or invest in the city on a special date night. I’m sure those friends know how much I need something like this and will be supportive, too. There’s more to a friendship than meeting dinner or coffee and we all know that. Also, the holidays are coming up and, whether you ask for it or not, craziness ensues. Combating that craziness is going to be difficult but I’m not too worried about that.

I’m sure it won’t be much different than the winter we had last year since we were so burnt out from the wedding we didn’t want to do much but we didn’t accomplish much, just rested. This year, I want to come into Spring feeling ready to take on the world. No pressure, right?

– A

Leave a Reply

