Reflecting on 28 and Making 29 Count

Under the Oaks blog : Reflecting on 28 and Making 29 Count

In two days I will leave 28 behind forever and set my focus on 29, the last chance to make my 20s count for something great. So far I’ve been pleased with the way I’ve handled the harsh 20s; so much change, so much growth … but I think I’ll save that reflection for next year. Year 28 alone was filled with its share if change and growth, but most importantly I really got to know this individual named Me.

In honor of my birthday and my **simpatico relationship with “7” here are my 7 Reflections for 28:

1) My mother got remarried to a really great guy. I didn’t really know how much it would mean to me, but it really did to see my mother finally that happy.

2) If someone says they are self-aware it is likely they are only partially self-aware. I distinctively remember describing myself as self-aware early in the year and was proved wrong. I discovered so many interesting things about the way my mind, body, and soul work that I feel more self-aware, but now understand that you can never be fully aware. I take pleasure in knowing that I get to know myself a little bit more for another year, and hopefully many more to come!

3) I have a voice, and she is loud, strong, and way more impactful than I ever gave her credit for.

4) I am my biggest bully and comparison is a hate crime. I literally adopted a mantra that I have to repeat to myself on occasion, “treat yourself the way you treat others.” I was not nearly as kind to myself as I am to others, but I’m working on it. I simply didn’t realize how hurtful I was being, how harsh I can be on myself. We all have demons.

5) I have a great husband because I am a great wife, and vice versa. They ain’t lying when they say compromise and communication are key. I feel very blessed and loved.

6) Failure is not as bad as most people make it out to be. I’ve learned that failure is a result of risk and it takes a brave person to trust themselves in a risk.

7) Losing my grandpa made me feel spiritually stronger. I was incredibly sad, but felt a strong spiritual faith that he made it to a good place without worry and pain. I also like to picture him watching over his family.

**I was born on September 7th, around 7am, and I weighed 7lbs, 7oz. Needless to say, I still have a thing for 7s.

In general, I really liked 28 and will always think very fondly of it. I look at it as the year where I learned to truly find the silver lining in a bad moment. I allowed myself to feel in a bad moment, but I didn’t let it ruin my outlook on everything else. I discovered an inner strength, courage, and even a little confidence. Quite frankly I surprised myself. 28, the year in which I surprised myself with my own true character.

“Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.”

Thanks for the ride 28, cheers to 29! You’ve got some big shoes to fill. xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

