DIY Hungry Caterpillar

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

 This past weekend Annie and I co-hosted a Book-themed baby shower for a very dear friend (and avid reader) of ours. It was a lot of fun to plan, but boy was I happy to have a partner in crime! We pinned all sorts of ideas via Pinterest from decor to menu ideas, games, and more.

On Thursday Annie will show off more of our work and photos from the festivities. Today I am focusing on one of the DIY decor items … A Very Hungry Caterpillar! We had pinned a project that was very similar, but did not include any sort of tutorial. So if a tutorial is what you are seeking, you are in luck!

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

This project was fairly inexpensive and easy. A majority of the supplies I had on hand, and really only had to purchase the tissue paper which cost me a total of $5. For this project I used:

  • 30 sheets of green tissue paper (for 5 puffs, 6 sheets each)
  • 6 sheets of red tissue paper
  • double-sided tape
  • string
  • craft/construction paper
  • yellow and black markers

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

I started by separating the tissue paper into units containing six sheets each. Then, starting from the short side, began folding the units of 6 like an accordion, with the width between each fold being about 1.5 inch. Hint: these don’t have to be perfect! When they are puffed out, no one can tell whether or not your folds were perfect.

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

When I had 5 total accordions of green, and one of red, I used heavy-duty scissors to cut half moons on the two ends of each accordion. You will want to use a heavy-duty scissor as the paper does become very thick and difficult to cut through.

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

Then, I secured each accordion around the middle with double-sided tape and a string about 3 feet long, long enough for hanging that I could trim down if needed. Looking back, I probably would have preferred using clear fishing wire, but since this was what I had on hand, this is what I used.

Once secured from the center I began pulling each individual sheet apart, which when fully pulled apart formed a circle. Beware that when you are pulling these thin sheets of tissue apart they are bound to tear! Again, don’t fear (and don’t you dare start over), no one will know that you made a mistake!

Under the Oaks blog : DIY Hungry Caterpillar

I have a nice wide doorway between my living room and dining room where I hung the 6-total puffs at varying heights (using poster putty). To complete the project I free-hand drew, and colored, 6 little legs, 2 circle eyes, and 2 antennae. I attached using the double-sided tape and voila, a Very Hungry Caterpillar!

Check back Thursday where Annie reveals more photos from the Book-themed baby shower! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

2 thoughts on “DIY Hungry Caterpillar

  1. It was SO cute and one of the many highlights! I’m so glad the party could supply you with useful material for the blog!! hahaha

  2. Pingback: Rachel’s DIY Storybook Baby Shower | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

