Have a blessed week.

Under the Oaks blog : Have a blessed week.

About a week ago I was rounding out the end of a bad two weeks. Nothing detrimentally horrible, just what I’d like to chalk up to as bad luck, presumably mixed with hormones. This past week was so much better. Again, nothing amazing, but a little change of attitude and a recognition of blessings. I was also thinking about that saying, something like it takes a little bad to appreciate the good.

I am dedicating this week to all those things in life that make us feel blessed. Why wait for Thanksgiving, why not be thankful all the time? For the sake of time and the never-ending Sunday to-do list I have narrowed in on three items that make me feel blessed:

  • A great husband and healthy relationship. This weekend and last we worked as a team on major items around the house and have started checking projects off our list, that have been on our list for years. I feel blessed to have a true partner.
  • Wonderful friends. Last week I had the opportunity to catch up with a couple of friends. We can pick up a conversation at any time and confide in each other completely. Major blessings.
  • A job that makes me feel accomplished. The project I am working on is eerily close to completion when at one point I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. I owe that not only to hard work on my part, but dedicated and enthusiastic team members. I also had a couple of ironic moments in the last week that reminded me of a sad and depressing time in my career and truly reiterated my current career blessings.

What are three things that you feel blessed with? List some blessings in the comments below! xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

2 thoughts on “Have a blessed week.

  1. Sorry you had a bad few weeks, but I admire you for trying to push aside the negative in favor of focusing on the positive! It’s so easy to get caught up in the anti-blessings. The things we wish were better or are trying to improve. It can be defeating when we overlook our blessings in favor of those things we wish were different. I’d say…
    1. A stable society — even if my politicians make decisions I disagree with, I can count on the relative general safety and stability of my every day life. This has been on my mind lately as I read news articles about the abuse of women in India and political instability of Egypt. I pray for the people in those areas, and feel humbled to live where I do.
    2. I second the husband/partner blessing! I’ve gotten glimpses of what a good support he’s going to be as we journey into parenting, and I feel reassured that he will be by side with encouragement during a grueling labor.
    3. Our church. This parish has been a great fit for us in so many ways, and it has been especially nourishing over the past year as I’ve gotten more involved, playing my flute and participating in the mass.

  2. Pingback: August Book Review : The Fault in Our Stars | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

