Have a disconnected week.

Under the Oaks blog: Have a disconnected week.

“I had this guy leave me a voice mail at work so I called him at home and then he e-mailed me to my Blackberry and so I texted to his cell and then he e-mailed me to my home account and the whole thing just got out of control. And I miss the days when you had one phone number and one answering machine and that one answering machine has one cassette tape and that one cassette tape either had a message from a guy or it didn’t. And now you just have to go around checking all these different portals just to get rejected by seven different technologies. It’s exhausting.” He’s Just Not That Into You

I’ve finally reached the point of technology exhaustion, it’s just too much. Between Facebook, Twitter, email, television, Pinterest, YouTube, Bloglovin’ … it’s just too much. I feel like maybe I’m losing precious time to do more of the things that I love that don’t involve refreshing Facebook on my phone. When I come home from work I tend to indulge in mindless TV or endless YouTube vlogs and then I go to bed and do it all over again. I’ve reached my technology threshold.

So, this week, while A is on vacay and I’m here to man the blog, I’m vowing to disconnect … for the next week at least. From today at noon (EST) to next Sunday at noon … no Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Pretty Little Liars, gossip blogs, Netflix, Pandora, etc.

I’ll be honest, I’m feeling a little anxiety. I started thinking about everything that I do every day that involves technology. It’s not just creeping on Facebook, it’s checking the weather, or reading the news. Using Google maps to get to point A to point B. It’s work.

Without leaving the country in order to completely disconnect I’ve made a couple exceptions to the rule:

  1. I will check work emails and use the internet at work ONLY to do work things.
  2. I will respond to text messages and calls. In this day in age, if someone doesn’t respond to you via text or voicemail, you are likely to think someone is dead or a real jerk.
  3. I will respond to personal emails IF they are of important nature.

Next week Tuesday I’ll be writing a follow-up post to this one letting you know how it goes, what my challenges were, and what things I was able to do with all that “extra” time.

Have you ever disconnected outside of going on vacation? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Note: You will be seeing two additional posts this week from me. Please note that when you see them I have not cheated on my hiatus, I have simply scheduled them out.

One thought on “Have a disconnected week.

  1. Pingback: Technology Cleanse Recap | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

