Dreaming of… Upstate New York

Under the Oaks blog: Dreaming of... Upstate New York #madewithover

Upstate New York is home to me. I grew up there and left after high school to move to NC for college. It’s funny that my appreciation and love for Upstate has grown since leaving. I always knew it was an absolutely beautiful place to be [in the summer] but never knew how much I would miss it when I was gone. I would love to have a lake house and spend my summers there and have all my friends from NC come up and visit and fall in love, too. But for now, I go to visit my mom and relive my youth by taking Jason to some of my favorite places. Here are some pictures from previous trips and a little sneak peak of some of the things I’ll be doing all next week on vacation!

Bully Hill Vineyards, Keuka Lake on Under the Oaks blog: Dreaming of... Upstate New YorkBully Hill Vineyards is a staple wine in NY, in my opinion. It was probably the most talked about and most seen wine in my family while I was growing up. It helps that their labels are usually pretty awesome, too.

Bully Hill Vineyards, Keuka Lake on Under the Oaks blog: Dreaming of... Upstate New York

The actual vineyards of Bully Hill Vineyards

The view from The Waterfront Restaurant, Keuka Lake on Under the Oaks blog: Dreaming of... Upstate New York

This was our view for lunch (in between all the wineries we went to around the lake). We went to The Waterfront restaurant on the western side of Keuka. It’s not the greatest food but it’s a great view with my favorite wines so it was hard to pass up.

watkins2

This is one of the places I visited most often when I lived in NY. It’s the gorge at Watkins Glen State Park, near Seneca Lake I would come up here by myself and watch all the tourist or go for a run up a couple miles to the top and back down. This was also where Jason and I had our engagement photos. Our first long trip together was when he came home with me to meet my mom and I had to bring him here. It seemed natural to have our engagement photos taken here.

I’ll be taking a ton of photos on our trip so look for a recap post next week sometime. Have you ever been Upstate?

– A

Leave a Reply

