Paleo Updates + Finding Fitness Motivation

Under the Oaks blog: #Paleo Updates + Finding Fitness Motivation #madewithover

It has been almost three weeks since I wrote my Thinking About Paleo post and things have been interesting. First off, we finally got into that Farmer’s Market routine I’ve mentioned a few times before. I’m excited about this because it’s one of my favorite things to do around Raleigh. It sometimes can seem daunting because you have so many choices when you get there and you still have to do some price comparisons. I think it helps that Jason and I go together because we talk and plan out our meals as we are picking out veggies. It almost eliminates a step and gives us freedom to see what’s good and work around that. We hit up the State Farmer’s Market first, grocery and pantry second, which is usually Target, then Trader Joe’s, which brings me to my second point. We have a new go-to grocery store. I’m not really sure why this is such a big deal for us but it is.

We have been die hard Harris Teeter shoppers (if we were in the north it would be Wegman’s!). Here’s a little background why: Jason used to work across the street from a HT and would get lunch there pretty much every day. A few months before we started dating, he got a call from HT congratulating him on winning an all-expenses paid (booze included) cruise called the VIC Voyage. You have to be a VIC card member and your scans get recorded in the system. From what I’ve heard, the winners are for something like most money spent in a year, most visits per year, etc. I’m not entirely sure why he won but he did and he took his brother and they had a fabulous time. So our shopping was for loyalty and quality and I like the fact that they are a local NC business, well, as of this morning. However, they don’t carry a lot of what we are looking for now for our new paleo-based lifestyle. Before we officially switched over to Trader Joe’s, we did a ton of comparison shopping for paleo staples, such as coconut aminos, specialty flours and oils, veggies, and meats. I love Whole Foods because I feel like the quality is second to none but you end up paying for it.

Annie's new go-to grocery store - Under the Oaks blog: #Paleo Updates + Finding Fitness Motivation

Overall, Trader Joe’s seems to be a good, inexpensive match and, like Whole Foods, a trustworthy source for food and products in general. In an upcoming post, I’ll actually have a paleo shopping guide for you! I’m really excited to be working on this and should have it ready to share next week so keep a look out for that!

Now that we’ve been working on a solid food plan, I’m starting to feel urge to move more. I’m just a few pounds away from Goal Weight #1 and I know the fitness aspect is what’s going to bring me to that goal.

Under the Oaks blog: #Paleo Updates + Finding Fitness Motivation #madewithover

Usually there is nothing that can motivate me to work out. When I had a routine, it was actually fairly easy for me to get to the gym, which is always the hardest part. And it was easy to have a routine when I didn’t have much else going on. I work until 5:30p and I feel like that is a big reason why I find it more difficult. Even though I’m usually only doing a 30-45 minute work out, the travel, parking, changing, showering, and sometimes waiting for equipment turns it into an hour and a half. In my night, there’s a big difference between 6p and 6:30p. Do you feel that way? The above quote is probably my favorite for bringing me back to reality.

I will tell you all that I have heard several times to “do what you love” when it comes to fitness. I wasn’t convinced and I’m still not really but we picked up Jason’s new mountain bike that we ordered for his birthday and went for a ride that night. We were only out for a half hour but that half hour FLEW by. It was pretty amazing and I felt like it wasn’t enough time. I was just about dead from the heat and hills but I can work with that.

What are your fitness motivators?

– A

3 thoughts on “Paleo Updates + Finding Fitness Motivation

  1. Great post! My fitness motivator is my CrossFit gym. The community is amazing, and you look forward to going every day…and if you don’t, they’ll give you crap! I also do spin class with my best girl friend, and my husband and I take the dogs for runs a lot in the summer. So I guess I’d have to say, the people in my life are my motivators. Working out is also quality time with the people I love. 🙂

    • Thanks! I am seriously considering CrossFit but I’m not sure I could justify another gym right now. I have heard that the community is awesome and key to success there. I think I really need that! Hoping my husband and I can get into the routine to motivate each other with the biking at least. Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. Pingback: Thinking about Paleo | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

