A Balancing Act, Work and Life

I’m sadly in the same place Annie mentioned on Sunday in her “balanced week” post in which I quite frankly have no idea how unbalanced my life is until I’m faced with a moment that kindly reminds me. Just yesterday evening I was catching up with a friend and when asked what was new, I honestly couldn’t list a thing. In my mind I’m thinking about a large project at work and how busy it has kept me, or how messy my house is because I’m so exhausted after work, or that I have 5 unfinished projects awaiting my attention. In the end, all I could say was, “I got nothin’,” all while my mind is instantly racing to think about what life will be like with an additional, breathing human being. [insert chosen explicit phrase here]

With that being said I like to think I have a good head on my shoulders, and when I feel like things are getting out of balance I go back to a simple list of 4 important things in my life, what I call my list of priorities in order from most important to least important:

  1. My Mental & Physical Health
  2. Family & {close} Friends
  3. Home
  4. Work

Then I think about the above list and what its current state is:

  1. Work
  2. Family & {close} Friends
  3. Home
  4. My Mental & Physical Health

When I think of my priorities in this fashion it suddenly makes the solution manageable: I simply stop the presses and attempt re-organization. This past weekend I brought my laptop home with the intention of working all day Saturday. Instead, I got a massage, pedicure, and took a nice long nap. I saved the work until Sunday night and called it a weekend. Will there always be a tangible solution? No, but one hurdle down … many more balancing acts to come.

ZenoGroup-Millennial-Women-Infographic

In other news, Zeno Group recently released research on the millennial women of today entitled, Millennial Women Redefine Ambition in the Workplace. At first I scoffed at the infographic and thought, what women were they interviewing to compile this load of data? Then I thought about it a little more and combined thoughts of my personal priority list and came to the conclusion that they might as well have interviewed me.

I am clearly part of the 76% of women that are concerned about my ability to balance my professional and personal goals. The real question I have, who are the 24% that are not?

I truly desire to have it all. I want a job that fulfills me from 9-5, a family from 5-9, and a clear head on my shoulders all while saving the planet with one hand and keeping a clean home with the other. With that being said, the only thing I’m going to think about when I’m 80 years old, God willing, is how happy I was to have a happy and healthy family. I’m most likely not going to think about my professional achievements or how clean I kept my home. This tells me instantly what my priorities in life are.

Do I wish to be a SAHM (stay-at-home mom)? Not really. I LOVE and thrive from the high I get when I’ve accomplished something major at work, and I thoroughly enjoy collaborating with peers. Do I wish to be a president of a company and lead thousands? Not particularly, I’m contented knowing I’ll be the president of my own little household.

What are your thoughts on Zeno’s millennial women research? Agree, disagree? Do you find it as interesting as I did? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

