Have a balanced week.

Under the Oaks blog: Have a balanced week.

Taking on too much in your life may not hit you until you actually hear someone name off everything you have going on. It happened for me a few weeks ago. I mentioned to a friend that I felt stressed and overwhelmed and I had no idea why. “You should be. You have a lot going on,” she said. “You work, blog, you’re starting an Etsy store, you have a husband, and spend a lot of time with friends and family. I think you have enough going on to feel stressed about.” It was eye-opening. Very similar to trying to solve a problem close to you or heal a relationship you’re in the middle of. You need an outsider’s perspective to really understand the depth.

After that conversation, I’ve done a lot to separate my time. Dedicating certain days or parts of a day to certain projects has been helpful. Although, I’ve learned to accept that I may not finish a project as soon as I start it. I’ve also learned that it’s ok to start something when you haven’t prepped.

For example, Jason made makeshift menu boards for our wedding that I wrote on with a Sharpie. They had just been sitting in all my wedding leftovers. My plan was to paint over them and repurpose them as other artwork. Yesterday, in the middle of cleaning the house, I took them out, set them on my desk, grabbed the paint and a brush and “tried” painting them, just to see if it would cover. It worked and I didn’t move until I had painted them both. It took all of 20 minutes and they are done. If I had planned that out, the whole process would have been somewhere around a week… 6 days of planning/ setting a time, an hour of prep, 20 minutes of work, and 10 minutes complaining about taking so long to sit down and do something so easy. I also managed to get  the house cleaning done as well. So I ended up feeling even more accomplished.

Is there something that you’ve been putting off for a while? I bet you’re procrastinating because it seems like a daunting task. This week, when you’re sitting in front of your TV relaxing after work or hanging out on your back porch after the kids go to bed, why not grab that project and “try” it out? You might be surprised how much you can get done without even thinking about it.

– A

One thought on “Have a balanced week.

  1. Pingback: A Balancing Act, Work and Life | under the oaks

Leave a Reply

