Adulthood and Lawns: So Many Lessons, So Little Time

lawn_backyard

6 years ago when the hubby and I began our Raleigh house search we wanted a short list of items: 3 bedrooms, a garage, and a decent-sized yard. Oh, to be young and stupid.

Lawn-care truly gives me heartburn and I’m going to be 100% up front here, because I know my husband is going to read this and his reaction to my reaction to lawn-care is most likely going to be laughter: I don’t take care of the lawn or anything near it. It never has been, and never will be, my job. I will DIY and renovate the crap out of the inside of the house, but don’t you dare ask me to mingle with the bugs and snakes of the typical North Carolinian lawn. After we moved and stumbled upon the following statistic I knew immediately that any hope for me and the great outdoors was lost: North Carolina has the 2nd highest snake population in the United States.

Ugh, why me.

What I am good at though, is suggestions. I’m a wonderful wife in that I can tell my husband exactly what to do, from inside the walls of our home. I have all sorts of good advice on trimming hedges, edging the lawn, murdering the weeds that pop up in the cracks in the sidewalk. Surely it is unsolicited advice, but advice nonetheless.

Our physical lawn is an absolute disaster. We used to get weekly quotes from lawn care professionals letting us know that for $250 a month they could cure us of our 6 different grasses and various weeds. What makes it worse is that our neighbors partake in these treatments which puts our lawn to shame. Is it wrong that I think you should just let grass grow naturally? When did lawns turn into a mark of status? I’m fairly paranoid that these so-called professional sneak into our yard in the middle of the night and spread weed seeds in hopes to push us into submission.

I’m on to you, lawn care professionals, and we will never cave, NEVER you hear!

For my home-owner friends, and fellow lawn worriers, I am passing along an app [NCSU Lawn Care App] I just recently stumbled across that was actually developed by North Carolina State University, which is funny because the folks that I’m paranoid of probably learned to do what they do at NCSU, so …. such is life. Any who, give me an app and I’m contented. Now, it’s not the best app I’ve ever downloaded, but it has lots of informational articles on North Carolina specific species of grasses, seeding calendars, maintenance calendars, FAQs, etc. It is, after all, a Free app.

Under the Oaks blog : Adulthood & Lawns

What I’ve already learned:

  • We primarily have bermudagrass
  • Apparently we need to be fertilizing every 4 to 6 week at 1.0 lb. of nitrogen per 1,000 square feet during growing season (right …)
  • In North Carolina our lawns suffer from high soil moisture and low soil oxygen and sufficient nitrogen which leads to denitrification, see above
  • Our grass should be mowed at 0.75-2.00 inches – pretty short!
  • Leaving the grass clippings on the lawn is actually really good for your lawn because it quickly decomposes and releases nutrients back into your soil (hubby – 1, me – 0 … he already does this and all along I wanted him to capture the clippings)

I think what we (and by we, I mean my husband … I’m not doing a dang thing) are going to look into next for our suffering yard is probably a fertilizer for our lawn, that is something that we (ha) do not currently do and something we could manage on our tight budget and schedule.

Grass care tips anyone?? xoxo ‘n lols, crystal

Leave a Reply

